Painted Table Inspiration

Now that we’ve built a new kitchen table I’m thinking about painting the dining room table.

The dining room table is a round that becomes oval when two leaves are inserted.
The dining room table is a round that becomes oval when two leaves are inserted.

We found this table in a neighbor’s yard with a “free” sign on it.

And entire blue table might be too much of a good thing.
And entire blue table might be too much of a good thing.

I saw a similar table painted totally blue in a blue room.

I like this two-tone table.
I like this two-tone table.

Ethan Allen has a round table with a blue base and a natural top. I think this is the inspiration I’m looking for.

These are the chairs we'll be using.
These are the chairs we’ll be using.

I don’t know when we’ll have time to paint a table — certainly not before Christmas — but it’s on the list.

Do you paint furniture?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Painted Table Inspiration”

  1. Have you seen projects done with chalk paint or milk paint? Some of those tempt me. I don’t like the ultra chippy look so much but I’ve seen some nice pieces of painted furniture. I’ve painted some old rustic pieces in the past but I tend to go for the outdoor pieces that I can use spray paint on.

    1. I might spray the table if I can take the top off which I think I can. I also am not much for chippy pieces — not a shabby chic girl in general. Sometimes I like a rustic piece as contrast. Never used chalk paint. Jo

  2. You might think I paint everything, but I’ve never painted furniture, mainly because I inherited a bunch of family antiques that were painstakingly refinished (oops) by my dad. However, I do have a couple of furniture painting projects on my list. Not the heirlooms, though. Maybe I’ll get to them in 2017?
    I like the dark blue table base. I think with a natural top that would blend with the caned chairs, it would make a handsome set.

  3. I pick up items at Goodwill, etc and reburbish. Since I’m retired, it gives me something to do that I enjoy. I might just make a little money on the side 🙂 I’m always looking for new, creative ideas. I really like the two tones.

Leave a Reply

