Fall Mantel Featuring the Red Wing Stag

One thing I can do well in advance of having a party is set up the mantel over the fireplace.

Recently the mantel was a bookshelf.
Recently the mantel was a bookshelf.

I try not to use the mantel as a catch-all but sometimes that’s just what happens.

The Red Wing Stag.
The Red Wing Stag.

After clearing and dusting the mantel I started with my Red Wing stag flower frog and matching bowl in the center under the mirror.  I’ve used this placement before.

A sunflower card painted by a friend, a white mini-pumpkin and glass bubbles.
A sunflower card painted by a friend, a white mini-pumpkin and glass bubbles.

Since I’m planning golden-yellow to be the party-theme decoration color, I surrounded the stag with shades of amber, ochre, and orange.

The mantel is not symmetrical just balanced.
The mantel is not symmetrical just balanced.

I searched through my vases and found a short ochre one to balance the height and mass of the card on the other side.

The colors are subtle.
The colors are subtle.

The kettle holder at the right bottom of the fireplace is wanting a large vase of bright flowers — sunflowers if the price is right.

The gourds will decorate the dining room table.
The gourds will decorate the dining room table.

At 50 cents a piece I bought enough gourds to fill an oval carved wood bowl.

What’s your autumn color this year?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Fall Mantel Featuring the Red Wing Stag”

  1. I love the stag. He displays well. You have a talented painter for a friend and the vase complement the card well. I leave my mantels as they are, but I do have both a wooden and a paper (book) pumpkin that I need to find and put out.

    1. Last year I could not locate the stag until I unpacked some boxes we had stored in the attic from the renovation. My friend is indeed a talented artist. I wish she had an on-line presence. Jo

  2. The stag is gorgeous … I hope he stays there all winter. Other than a Christmas tree, I’m not decorating this season. I need to get the plaster repair and painting done!

    1. The stag is a wonderful center for lots of different schemes. I think he’ll stay. You’ve finished so much great work on your house. I’d have to get worked up to do the plaster repair. Have fun. Jo

Leave a Reply

