Up to This

Charlie has begun painting the exterior trim that we didn’t get to last year while painting the house.

Charlie started painting on the rear eaves. Upper left.
Charlie started painting on the rear eaves. Upper left.

He’s giving the trim a coat of primer and a coat of exterior paint, Ultra Pure White by Behr in a satin enamel finish.

I cut out multiple copies of patterns in plastic and cardboard to make tracing them easier.
I cut out multiple copies of shoe patterns in plastic and cardboard to make tracing them easier.

I, on the other hand, am working in the house on piecemeal projects. I started by organizing materials for our Sole Hope party which is planned for November 12.

We're going to try to completely install the downstairs trim today and move the remaining wood to the second floor.
Our baseboard trim includes a 1 by4, ogee, and shoes moldings.

Baseboard trim – We’re going to completely install the downstairs trim today and move the remaining wood to the second floor hall.

While the saw is set up and the 1 by 4 lumber available we'll try to work on our new kitchen table.
While the saw is set up and the 1 by 4 lumber available we’ll try to work on our new kitchen table.

Kitchen table – We built the top, now we have to build the legs.

I have so many books to get rid of.
I have so many books to get rid of.

Donating books – I have more books to donate and a closer local place to take them.

Are you working on some fall chores?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Up to This”

  1. Hah! I was just remembering yesterday that I had decided October was my month to devote to finishing things up outside and even perhaps inside. That plan seems to have gone off the rails, I guess because the heat returned. Hope I can get back into that finishing up mode. Looks like you are well on your way.

  2. The trim paint makes such a difference! I was hoping to work on my mural, but it is cold and rainy here! I will do things around the house instead. Good luck with your trimming and everything else. I love how ambitious you are.

  3. This weekend will be semi-dry and maybe even sunny–gives me the last opportunity to paint some screen doors! Otherwise the final painting tasks may have to wait for 2017. Hope you get lots done!

  4. The trim is going to look beautiful when it’s finished! My son is making me a table/desk for my living room. I’m hoping he finishes it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

