Working on the Master Closet

Now that the flooring has been installed in the master closet we can start planning the actual closet.

The master closet window needs to be trimmed.
The master closet window needs to be trimmed.

We have two cabinets left over from the kitchen remodel which we plan to use in the master closet, one on my side one on Charlie’s side.

I plan to set my cabinet in the center of my wall above some drawers.
I plan to set my cabinet in the center of my wall above some drawers.

I’m going to use the above photo to sketch my plans.

I need to find some screw-in knobs for the doors so I can open them from inside the closet. I'm going to wait until I decide on hardware for the closet cabinets.
The doors have handles on the outside but not on the inside.

I need to find some screw-in knobs for the doors so I can open them from inside the closet. I’m going to wait until I decide on hardware for the closet cabinets.

My side of the closet.
My side of the closet.

I have started sketching my side using 24-inch sections along the left side wall.

When the doors are open shallow shoe storage would fit well on either side.
When the doors are open shallow shoe storage would fit well on either side.

The wall is actually 11 feet long so I’m going to have five 24-inch sections and a 1-foot space near the doors for shoes.

I hope we can build this. Ourselves.

Would you invest in matching hangers?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

14 thoughts on “Working on the Master Closet”

  1. Now I’m jealous, what a huge space and a great plan! We’ve got to do a full-on reno of attic space for a closet. Can’t wait to see your finished product – it’s going to be gorgeous!

  2. I switched from plastic hangers to those thin velvety ones that you see everywhere. I have multiple colors and I’m not sure I’m happy about that but I like them so much better than the plastic hangers. I’m jealous too of your closet space. I’m sure it will be a big relief when you can actually have all your clothes hanging together in one space.

  3. amazing closet. love your design. i used matching hangers in our downstairs coat closet b/c i removed the door. but upstairs in our bedroom closet it’s a free for all of all types, shapes and colors.

    1. That’s the design for my side. I think Charlie’s side will be more difficult to pull together because he will have a say in it. Ha Ha. Jo

  4. I’m sooo envious. Some day I will have a closet like this. We have three teeny-tiny 1913 closets and overflow all over! I would go to Ikea and buy their wooden hangers–they’re cheap and will look nice!

  5. That closet is only slightly smaller than my bedroom! It is going to be wonderful for you to have so much space for clothes. I prefer the velvet hangers for clothes that would slide off and wooden hangers for everything else, but I don’t have wooden hangers. We have so many plastic hangers that I feel guilty buying wooden ones that I don’t really need.

      1. I always make plans and then change them. I think that’s the best way to do it! Sometimes you don’t think of something on the first attempt.

Leave a Reply

