Trim, Trimmerie, Trim, Trimmerie

Last weekend I cut shoe molding for the conservatory.

I cut shoe molding to go around the entire conservatory.
I cut shoe molding to go around the entire conservatory.

Before I could set up the furniture I needed to pin the shoe down with nails or staples.

A small compressor is great for indoor use.
A small compressor is great for indoor use.

My friend lent me a pancake compressor and a small nail gun which made the job easier than hammer and nails.

The shoe molding hides the space where the floor meets the wall.
The shoe molding hides the space where the floor meets the wall.

I started in the closet to get a feel for how the nailer works.

The oak chest is back in the corner.
The oak chest is back in the corner.

After I nailed the corner near the dining room I brought in the oak chest of drawers and set up the television.

The loveseats are back in place facing each other.
The loveseats are back in place facing each other.

The loveseats had already been moved in after the rug was shampooed and dry.

My grandmother's marble-topped coffee table.
My grandmother’s marble-topped coffee table.

Finally I tried to move in the marble-topped coffee table that my grandmother bought in 1956.

My broken marble coffee table top.
My broken marble coffee table top.

Unfortunately I smashed my fingers and dropped the marble which broke in two. I guess I’ll be looking for a different type of coffee table.

Maybe a bench like this in blue or green would work in the conservatory for a coffee table.
Maybe a bench like this in blue or green would work in the conservatory for a coffee table.

Maybe I can find a nicely sized and color-coordinated bench to fill the space.

Have you broken something precious?

 

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Trim, Trimmerie, Trim, Trimmerie”

    1. I was ready to get rid of it anyway because it doesn’t fit well in the conservatory in both size and style. I didn’t mean to break it though. Jo

  1. That is so sad. I’d be thinking maybe I could glue the two pieces back together or get another slab of something to use instead of the marble. Of course, if I smashed my fingers I might have a totally different outlook on stone or marble.

    1. I remember bringing this table and its matching end tables on the airplane from Florida to Maryland in the late 1970s. The good old days when the airlines would allow you to check anything for free. I guess I thought it was indestructible. Jo

  2. One of the marble brackets to my wash stand dropped on the floor of the storage unit and broke in half. I bought an epoxy marble adhesive kit and glued it back together. You would have to really look hard to see any sign of the damage.

  3. Oh no!! Even if you want to replace the table with another style, why not have the two pieces of marble cut down to use on some end tables or something? I have an Eastlake dresser that has a broken marble slab in the middle. I never think about it!

Leave a Reply

