Discount Cabinets for The Cottage

I stopped on the way to work yesterday to see if I could get cabinets for the Cottage kitchen.

Open from 8 a.m. until 3 p.m. --We arrived at 8.
Open from 8 a.m. until 3 p.m. –We arrived at 8. (It’s not snowing; this is a stock photo.)

The clearance center opened a little late.

I had my choice of these white cabinets.
I had my choice of these white cabinets.

I persevered and looked more closely at the cabinets I had perused earlier in the week.

Cabinets will go on the blue wall.
Cabinets will go on the blue wall.

The area that needs cabinets is 53 inches wide.

The top cabinet is 30" wide by 18" tall.
The top cabinet is 30″ wide by 18″ tall.

I managed a 30″ wide by 18″ tall for over the sink.

The warehouseman packed them onto the backseat of my Versa Blue Note.
The warehouseman packed them onto the backseat of my Versa Blue Note.

And a 21″ wide by 30″ tall cabinet to hang next to it over the counter. Each cabinet was $75.

The cabinets should hang something like this. The longer cabinet might be a little longer than pictured.
The cabinets should hang something like this. The longer cabinet might be a little longer than pictured.

The 2-inch gap at the end of the wall could come in useful in the long run.

Next project: Get someone to hang the cabinets.

Do you have a project to finish before the end of the year holidays?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Discount Cabinets for The Cottage”

  1. Good job, Jo. I don’t know what cabinets cost but knowing you you got a really good deal. Yippee, my internet, phone and tv are all back as of 4 pm Central Standard time on Saturday. The technician said it was a horrible job that he hopes doesn’t have to be done again. It’s a long run from two poles on the other side of the street to a pole in my yard and then to my house. Watching him at the pole in my yard made me very nervous.

Leave a Reply

