Another Ikea Trip

My friend who’s moving into the Cottage and I made a buying trip to Ikea.

The pile of my stuff in the Cottage is diminishing.
The pile of my stuff in the Cottage is diminishing.

I still have quite a few items in the Cottage but she will move in soon because she put her own house on the market and it sold within a week.

The space in front of the "kitchen" will be the living room sitting area.
The space in front of the “kitchen” will be the living room sitting area.

Since she’ll be moving in 30 days she wanted to start furnishing the space.

The purchase took 2 Ikea furniture carts.
The purchase took 2 Ikea furniture carts.

The first item she purchased is an Ektorp sofa with a chaise longue attachment. We unpacked it but are waiting to put it together.  I can’t wait to see how it fits in the space.

Cardboard deters weeds under chips.
Cardboard deters weeds under chips.

It came in two enormous boxes which Charlie plans to use under additional chip paths.

This cabinet should fit well in the Cottage beside the door. The space is 38" and the cabinet is 30-3/4 " wide.
This Brimnes cabinet should fit well in the Cottage beside the door. The space is 38″ and the cabinet is 30-3/4 ” wide.

Another item is a cabinet that should fit into the space to the right of the door.

55 inches wide by 39-1/2inches tall a color photo of Baltimore, Maryland, at night.
55 inches wide by 39-1/2inches tall a color photo of Baltimore, Maryland, at night.

Finally we surprisingly found a large photo of the city of Baltimore to hang in the Cottage. (I have the Paris photo in my bedroom.)

What’s “your” city?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Another Ikea Trip”

  1. Move in time is getting close. I’m excited for her. I’m also anxious to see the cottage furnished for living in.

  2. Your posts stopped showing up in my reader again. I wondered why you hadn’t posted for a couple of days – turns out you had! It is amazing that your friend sold her house that quickly. NY is my city. There are several that I love, but none so much as that one.

  3. Chicago is my city, although I’m from Milwaukee. Or maybe San Francisco. I love those big cityscapes at Ikea. I want the NYC one, but I have nowhere to display it in this house.

Leave a Reply

