Scarves and Jewelry for Hope

A local church near us has come up with a unique way to raise money for charity.

Domestic Violence Center is now called Hope Works.
Domestic Violence Center is now called Hope Works.

They’ve asked ladies of the community to donate gently used scarves and jewelry to support Hope Works which provides support and advocacy to survivors of sexual, dating, and domestic violence, and aims to be the catalyst in the community to change the cultural norms that allow sexual and domestic violence to happen.

A pile of scarves I feel comfortable donating.
A pile of scarves I feel comfortable donating.

While I don’t have much jewelry (most of it was stolen 15 years ago) I do have scarves that have seldom or never been worn.

Music scarves
Music scarves

I have a lot of music theme scarves that I used to wear to gigs.  I don’t gig much anymore so I’m happy to donate my rarely worn ones to this cause.

I'm not just giving junk.
I’m not just giving junk.

I have a beautiful silk poncho by Liz Claiborne that I’ve never worn.

I love the print but can't see me wearing a short silk poncho.
I love the print but can’t see me wearing a short silk poncho.

It’s not really my style.

Too bad the sale is after Halloween.
Too bad the sale is after Halloween.
Patriotic scarf
Patriotic scarf

Plus I have theme scarves that are not exactly my cup of tea.

Western theme.
Western theme.

I love when a good purpose for thinning my overflowing drawers is dropped in my lap.

The sale is in mid-November.
The sale is in mid-November.

It’s also important that people show up for the sale.

What could you support?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Scarves and Jewelry for Hope”

Leave a Reply

