Recent Craigslist Dispursements

When Charlie found out I had listed about 20 items on Craigslist he was surprised.

The granite samples I wrote about here were given away free.
The granite samples were given away free.

Most things are on there for $5 or $10 and some things are even free.

When we removed the front path this light went, too. Sold for $5.
When we removed the front path this light went, too. Sold for $5.

Importantly they’re heading away from us an on to new homes.

A man bought the blue screen door for his wife for $10. I had it listed for $5.
A man bought the blue screen door for his wife for $10. I had it listed for $5.

Some items are very particular size-wise to the space they need.  One person in a thousand might be interested.

The second toymaker who drove 35 miles to pick up some free wood.
The second toymaker drove 35 miles to pick up some free wood.

However 3+ people are interested in our scrap wood pile. Two of them are planning to make small toys with the wood.

The last of the scrap wood -- 1st offering.
The last of the scrap wood — 1st offering.

The remainder of the woodpile was picked up yesterday. Of course we have more scraps which we haven’t gathered together yet.

Believe it or not the pile in the Cottage is diminishing. The lamp with its shade is now listed.
Believe it or not the pile in the Cottage is diminishing. The lamp with its shade is now listed.

What can I list next?

Our friend-and-future-tenant’s house went on the market today. Have you got any drastic changes planned?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Recent Craigslist Dispursements”

  1. Do you ever have problems with people saying they’ll buy an item and then they never show up to take it? A friend of mine has been very frustrated by this when she sells on Craigslist. I’ve never tried it., but I sure need to do something.

    1. My method is this: I don’t get invested in making the sale. If I’ve had an item for 40 years I can keep it another month or two. Time is on my side. I don’t accept emails, only text messages. (Charlie also allows phone calls when his number is listed but I don’t.) If we agree to a day and time frame I ask them to text me when they’re on the way and then I send my address. This way I don’t have people showing up at unexpected times. And from time to time I don’t hear back from people because they’ve forgotten or decided they didn’t want it. The “last minute” address method seems to have its merits. Jo

  2. My family’s big yard sale is Saturday. Finally. I promoted it pretty aggressively and am hoping the impolite dealers come and hour before the start and snatch up lots of things. We have 37 active listings on Craigslist right now, plus 22 that already sold. Some of those are for multiple items. My dad said absolutely not to making any private appointments to sell anything until after the sale. He’s sick of people asking when to come and then vanishing. After the sale I think we’ll go back to accommodating people, including leaving things at my house when a buyer would rather go there than to my parents.

      1. I’m protecting myself by just saying, “thank you, Chad.” I’m trying not to replace the things I’m getting rid of. I tend to attract clutter. Jo

Leave a Reply

