Pathetic Planting

I planted 2 and a half packets of sunflower seeds.

Sunflower seeds were cast randomly in 2 rows.
Sunflower seeds were cast randomly in 2 rows.

I was very hopeful that I would have a veritable wall of 6-foot-tall flowers.

Very few came up and they are puny -- barely 2-feet tall.
Very few came up and they are puny — barely 2-feet tall.

Charlie weeded the strip leaving just the sunflowers.

"Vanilla Ice" sunflowers will not be my choice next year.
“Vanilla Ice” sunflowers will not be my choice next year.

It as not at all what I was hoping for.

I still love sunflowers.
I still love sunflowers.

It is just pathetic.

Has it been a tough growing season in your neighborhood?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Pathetic Planting”

  1. Maybe it was too dry there? It looks like it was pretty close to the house. I’m afraid I’m going to lose some young plantings from this spring – not enough rain and much too hot. That might have been your problem, too. The vision of the wall of sunflowers is a good one, though.

  2. reminds me of the Stonehenge scene in spinal tap. haven’t seen that movie since college, and it wasn’t my favorite, but that scene made me LOL. maybe next year you’ll have a wall of sunflowers – that would be amazing!

  3. Ah yes, sunflowers can be hit and miss. I have trouble with slugs and snails eating the seedlings as soon as they emerge if I’m not vigilant with the snail pellets, so that’s a possibility here too. Ditto what Barbara said, dryness is often an issue right beside the house or a fence. Also, I’d say the soil might need some improvement with compost, etc. dug in next time for nutrients and to improve the structure, as it can get pretty compacted and leach lots of nutrients near the house too. The flowers do look pretty though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

