Evaluating the Old Doors

As I am moving my stuff out of the Cottage some things are easier to get rid of.

The Cottage was a clutter magnet.
The Cottage was a clutter magnet.

That implies that some things are more difficult.

During the renovation some of the doors were taken off and we stored them.
During the renovation some of the doors were taken off and we stored them.

The doors we removed from the house during the renovation have been stacked in the corner for a few years now.

We're keeping the white traditional screen door on the Cottage but getting rid of the blue door that was on the house.
We’re keeping the white traditional screen door on the Cottage but getting rid of the blue door that was on the house.

The screen door that used to be on the front of the house is no longer needed by us so I listed it on Craigslist.  It’s vintage.

The door is ordinary but would match the other doors on the upstairs hall.
The door is ordinary but would match the other doors on the upstairs hall.

Our 3-panel bedroom door has been replaced by a new door.  I was going to try to reuse it but I like the way the new door works.

I love a lever style door handle.
I love a lever style door handle.

Especially the lever door knob.

Six-panel door basement door.
Six-panel door basement door.

But we also have our old basement door.

The old door has a vintage brass knob and escutcheon.
The old door has a vintage brass knob and escutcheon.

This is a super-solid 6-panel door for which I would like to find a project.

Our exterior dining room door has been removed when the wall was opened up.
Our exterior dining room door has been removed when the wall was opened up.

The one door for which I have the perfect spot is our old four-light back door.

A door on the laundry room would obscure this view.
A door on the laundry room would obscure this view, especially the bottom.

It should fit and would work well on the opening to the laundry room. Our laundry room is on the second floor with the bedrooms so it would be great to be able to close it off to block the view and keep the heat of the dryer contained especially in summer.

#clearthecorner
#clearthecorner

Hoping to have the doors redistributed by the weekend.

Do you have an unconventional project for an old door?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

12 thoughts on “Evaluating the Old Doors”

  1. I love the hardware on the basement door. That would make it hard to give up for me. Hope you can find a use for it. The “new” laundry room door sounds great.

    1. I have a million ideas if I could just follow through it would be great but everyone’s comments lead me to believe I’m not alone. Jo

  2. I think you remember when I accumulated 8 extra doors knowing I would never use them for anything. There’s now only one left, a 5 paneled door that I want to make into a daybed for my back bedroom. I should take bets on how long the “temporary” metal frame sticks around.

      1. Then you’ll want to make (or have made) bolster pillows that take up enough of the depth of the bed to make it comfortable to sit on. Especially since yours would be more for sitting than sleeping.

  3. Jo, what about building out a little cabinet in the shed (or maybe even the cottage?) and using the screen door or another door on that? Just a thought from an overactive mind that should be busy figuring out what I should be doing with all my extra stuff instead of your extra stuff.

    1. Barbara, you’re too funny. We should just trade houses for a week and throw out each other’s stuff. When we got back to our own homes everything would be neat as a pin. Ha ha. Jo

  4. I agree, the hardware on the old basement door is beautiful. Whether you use the door or not, be sure to keep the hardware! And–are those rubber bands around the knob? I have always kept big rubber bands on my kitchen door knob. It’s where they live!

Leave a Reply

