Reflecting

I have a collection of mirrors.

Charlie constantly complains about the too-small mirror in the conservatory bathroom.
Charlie constantly complains about the too-small mirror in the conservatory bathroom.

Unfortunately I don’t have a place for all of them and yet in some of the spots that need a mirror I haven’t found the right one.

I have an identical 2' by 3' mirror that might work in the tiny pink-tiled bathroom in the house when we change the wallpaper.
I have an identical 2′ by 3′ mirror that might work in the tiny pink-tiled bathroom in the house when we change the wallpaper. (This one is in the Cottage bathroom.)

Yesterday I decided to put some of the extraneous mirrors on Craigslist but first I asked my friend in the Cottage if she wanted one of 3 full-length mirrors I have.  She took one, I have one, and my son took the third one. Yea! They’re all accounted for.

This mid-century modern mirror is very plain and weighs a ton.
This Danish mid-century modern mirror is very plain and weighs a ton — approximately 24″ by 30″.

And there’s a mid-century modern mirror in the Cottage that my friend also said she liked. So that mirror will just stay in the Cottage although it might get moved to another wall.

I was hoping my son wasn't referring to this mirror that hangs over my bathroom sink.
I was hoping my son wasn’t referring to this mirror that hangs over my bathroom sink.

As I was asking my son if he would like any mirrors, he remembered an etched mirror that we had when he was a child.  I can’t even believe he noticed something like that.

My vintage etched mirror tray.
My vintage etched mirror tray.

In fact we still have it and I’m glad to pass it on to him.

I chose the mirror holder on the left for its simple style.
Mirror clips come is a variety of styles.

I also gave him mirror hanging clips from my box of miscellaneous hardware.

I would like this French gilt mirror centered in the doorway.
I would like to find a spot for this French gilt mirror. It’s over 4-feet tall and fairly ornate.

I have some others which I am going to try to get rid of and still others I’d like to hang in the house.

Do you keep old hardware just-in-case?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “Reflecting”

  1. The answer to the question…I would keep hardware, but my husband lo es to clear things out! If I can attach the little bits to the item in a bag or with tape ok…otherwise it will likely never be seen again. This is all only IF we manage to keep the item itself! You are making lots of progress!

    1. Thank you. Maybe making the decision is the hardest part. After that the action seems inconsequential. I love finding just the right piece of hardware in my stash. Jo

Leave a Reply

