The New Router Was the Least of My Problems

Last week I got a new router and had some issues getting it going .

The "internet" light was orange but it's supposed to be green.
The “internet” light was orange but it’s supposed to be green.

But I finally got connected. It was working fine on Thursday night but on Friday morning the orange light returned. We also lost our telephone dial tone.

The old box was not working properly.
The old box was not working properly.

I contacted Verizon and they sent out a technician who decided our old outside box had been fried maybe by lighting, not to mention it was a home to wasps.

This new box is attached to the outside of the house.
This new box is attached to the outside of the house.

He exchanged it for something new, not actually new but refurbished.

The buttons are labeled: Alarm Silence (top) and Battery Emergency Use (bottom).
The old box
The new smaller box means I need to touch up the paint on the wall even though the box does end up behind a curtain and sofa.
The new smaller box means I need to touch up the paint on the wall even though the box does end up behind a curtain and sofa.

He also replaced the inside box which is smaller than the old one.

Connected again.
Connected again.

Fortunately this was the fix. All the appropriate lights are lit and I can connect to Wi-Fi again.

Do you still have a land line?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “The New Router Was the Least of My Problems”

  1. No, I finally made the break last year after a few months with both. I got irritated when I tried to reduce the cost of the landline and each month they did it incorrectly so that I was still paying more than I should have been. Glad you got your problem solved.

    1. The problem with the phones is that so many things can go wrong I’m never sure exactly who to call or if it’s my own equipment that’s failing. We do count on internet service, however. Jo

  2. I still have a landline. Got it 17 years ago and give that phone number to people I never want to talk too. We never answer it – just listen to the voice mail from time to time.

    Maybe I am just sentimental, but I can’t just turn off a number that’s been part of my life for 17 years…

    1. Mine is almost 19 years connected and I keep it thus in case someone from my past is trying to find me. I don’t know who that would be. Jo

  3. WOW, so weird that the router issue and the box frying happened so close to each other. Or do you think that’s what caused the new router problems, too? Glad it’s been resolved. I gave up my landline years ago, but hubby still insists on having one. Like Andrew, we only give that number to people we never want to talk to. I would gladly give it up, but he likes the idea of a landline.

Leave a Reply

