A New Router with New Problems

I use Verizon Fios internet at home.

As far as I am concerned my outdated router was fine.
As far as I am concerned my outdated router was fine.

I received a notice that I must either update to a new router or Verizon would charge a monthly fee to maintain the one I have.

The new router came with new wires.
The new router came with new wires.

I opted to update and buy the new router which was probably a big mistake.

The "internet" light was orange but it's supposed to be green.
The “internet” light was orange but it’s supposed to be green.

When I first booted it up all the lights were green except the “internet” light which was amber. Naturally I couldn’t get my computer to connect so I checked on-line and found this YouTube explanation.

The dark section behind the wire is a hornet's nest which Charlie ultimately cleared out.
The dark section behind the wire is a hornet’s nest which Charlie ultimately cleared out.

First I went outside to see if the box with the buttons described in the video were there. Unfortunately when I opened the outdoor box it had a wasp nest and was filled with wasps who weren’t happy I had opened the box.

The buttons are labeled: Alarm Silence (top) and Battery Emergency Use (bottom).
The buttons are labeled: Alarm Silence (top) and Battery Emergency Use (bottom).

Actually the correct box is inside the living room just under the window.  As the video instructed I held both blue buttons down until I heard a beep.

I hate this technical stuff.
I hate this technical stuff.

When I went back upstairs all the router lights were green but I still couldn’t get my computer to connect. (I had already connected my iPhone and iPad.) I turned off the computer and started it again this time logging on as administrator.  The system allowed me to hook up.

Do you hesitate to get new technology? Or are you up to the minute?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “A New Router with New Problems”

  1. I hate it. Unfortunately I don’t have any handy teenagers or elementary children nearby to walk me through things. Glad you got things going on your own.

    1. Just like the router problem, I usually make so many corrections all at once I can’t tell you which one actually worked. So much for the scientific method. Jo

  2. i HATE when you hook up new things, like a router, and for no reasonable reason, the internet light is orange. that happened to us too. our fios boxes are in the basement and we finally found the right one (3 condos = 3 fios boxes) after accidentally shutting off the internet for our 2 neighbors. we also found a random light switch on the ceiling over our verizon box, and when we shut it off our neighbor immediately knocked on our door and asked us to put his AC back on LOL… old houses with new wiring are funny… thankfully hubby is amazing with technology. i still had a non-internet flip phone when i met him 5 years ago. he has since set me straight. and takes care of all such things!

  3. Thank heavens I have my own private geek, because I am totally befuddled by it all. I just want to use my computer! (I just want to drive my car, not do the repairs myself!)

Leave a Reply

