Over and Over

I know (from reading many organization articles) that organizing is impossible before getting rid of the clutter.

I collapsed and moved the drafting table to make room for kitchen items.
I collapsed and moved the drafting table to make room for kitchen items.
I moved everything out of the corner to store the counter.
I moved everything out of the corner to store the counter.

I have some large furniture items listed on Craigslist in the interest of paring down our myriad belongings which came to be ours through inheritance and other people’s downsizing.

Tucked behind all that stuff is the mid-century dresser.
Tucked behind all that stuff is the mid-century dresser.

Now that a friend wants to live in the Cottage I have been trying to get our stuff out of there. We have moved everything back and forth at least four times.

The dresser is sitting in the middle of the room.
The dresser is sitting in the middle of the room.

The latest was to pull out the mid-century dresser listed on Craigslist when I received a text from an interested party. I rubbed it with some red oil to clean and nourish the wood.

The bedframe on the left is now behind the dresser across the room.
The bedframe on the left is now behind the dresser across the room.
Bedframe against the wall.
Bedframe against the wall.

And my friend muscled my king-size headboard into the space I cleared.

I have a grander plan.
I have a grander plan.

I know it doesn’t look like it but we are making progress.

Do you have a great organizing tip?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Over and Over”

  1. You are doing good work. A friend told me, a long time ago, “action begets motivation” and I find it to be very true.

    1. One by one I’m listing the “big” stuff on Craigslist. As we get more projects finished I can move from holding pattern to action. I think I’ll be ready by then to let it go. Jo

  2. Unfortunately, no. Organization is not my strong suit. The midcentury dresser is a nice piece. I’d take it off your hands if I lived near you! Isn’t it ironic that other people’s downsizing becomes YOUR downsizing problem? Imagine all this stuff slowly circling and circling, trying to find a permanent home. There’s a story in there somewhere!

  3. I too have a problem with clutter! I’m looking forward to seeing your progress…hopefully it will inspire me! I’ve had some luck joining one of those Facebook groups where you can sell items locally. If they have one in your area it may be worth a try.

    1. I have some old family and personal pieces of mine that I’m recently willing to get rid of. Now I find out that those are the things that Charlie “likes”. We can’t keep everything. Jo

Leave a Reply

