Sight-Seeing Trip to Ikea

Sometimes I’m not sure that the things I see in photos are as good in person.

I usually shop at the College Park Ikea in Maryland.
I usually shop at the College Park Ikea in Maryland.

To that end I took a quick trip to Ikea to see the following:

  • Sofa:  The Ektorp basic sofa is a neutral beige color for $399 which can be dressed up with pillows.
    I'd like to replace a friend's broken sofa with this one.
    I’d like to replace a friend’s broken sofa with this one.

    It also comes in a printed version which I think a friend would like but which is not as versatile as the plain one.

    The pink flowered print might not complement her other furniture.
    The pink flowered print might not complement her other furniture.

Countertop: The solid birch countertop for the Cottage “kitchen” is on sale for a limited time.

A 74-inch countertop for a little more than $1 an inch seems like a bargain.
A 74-inch countertop for a little more than $1 an inch seems like a bargain.
  • Sink:  The stainless steel Fyndig sink is under $30.

    This sink is not too tiny.
    This sink is not too tiny.
  • Faucet:  The Ringskar faucet comes in two finishes:  bright chrome or stainless steel for $99.
    Brushed
    Brushed

    Bright
    Bright
  • Kitchen accessories:  I found a neat hanging dish rack and some metal shelves that would help with organizing a small space.
    Hanging dish rack can also be used on the counter.
    Hanging dish rack can also be used on the counter.

    This shelving has a reasonable price and compact appearance.
    This shelving has a reasonable price and compact appearance.

Those are the items I went looking for.  I also found a few enticing items that might ultimately find a place in our house.

The Agen chair is $60.
The Agen chair is $60.

Love these smallish woven rattan chairs.  I took a seat and found them to be very comfortable.

The large photo of Paris is about $60.
The large photo of Paris is about $50.

I also like very much this large photo of Paris with the Eiffel Tower highlighted. I might consider hanging it over our bed in place of the vintage map of Paris I was planning.

For $150 you could have 10 matching chairs. Paint might them look more authentic.
For $150 you could have 10 matching chairs. Paint might them look more authentic.

Finally the deal of the day — a folding garden chair for $15.  Really, how could you beat it?

Have you ever bought furniture from Ikea?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Sight-Seeing Trip to Ikea”

  1. Beloved & I have bought 2 of the Ektorp 2 seater sofas with 3 sets of covers – so comfy and with an array of throws I can change the whole ‘feel’ of the sitting room with in instant. I also have the older version of the Agen chair ( no cut away sides) which I have thrown a sheepskin rug over as my reading chair in my crafting den, so while I wouldn’t furnish the whole cottage from IKEA they do have some wonderful pieces

  2. Fortunately or unfortunately, it is at least 3 hours away in Atlanta. Maybe I could just stay there for a couple of days? Also, my house is pretty full but I do have a big yard….

    1. Hardly anyone at our Ikea on Thursday at 5 p.m. The store is very near the University of Maryland so maybe the reason is summer. Jo

  3. We are lucky to have an Ikea just a few miles away. I wish Ikea existed when I was young and broke! Sometimes Eric and go just for sight-seeing (that made us laugh). We never leave with an empty cart, and we’re usually full of Swedish meatballs, too. Eric bought me a Poang chair for Christmas and said he would only assemble it when I was done painting the living room … so it is still in the boxes. 😦

Leave a Reply

