Finished #15, Continue #78 and #79

As regular readers of LFTM know I’m working on a task list of 101 items to be completed in 1001 days.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee -- this book made us both laugh and loud and cry real tears.
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee — this book made us both laugh out loud and cry real tears.

Last night we concluded the discussions of To Kill a Mockingbird.  The book club met for 5 weeks — 10 people total and never fewer than 6 at any one session. (Next week we’ll gather one more time to watch the classic movie.)

We met in Glade Conservatory. I provided hot or cold beverages but no food.
We met in Glade Conservatory. I provided hot or cold beverages but no food.

I can recommend Mockingbird as a novel that rewards careful reading.  While the members were not always in agreement our discussions were respectful and diverse.  We were allowed to challenge each other’s perceptions.

It's a good idea to send out email reminders and comments or questions the day before each meeting to keep everyone interested.
It’s a good idea to send out email reminders and comments or questions the day before each meeting to keep everyone interested.

I loved it.  Others in the group also did and asked if we could continue the Club with another book.  I said I wouldn’t mind hosting if I didn’t always have to be the facilitator.  So far no takers.

I have 9 more books to read to complete two items on my 101 in 1001.
I have 9 more books to read to complete two items on my 101 in 1001.

Aside from #15 Host a book club, I have 2 additional reading tasks on my 101 in 1001 list: #78 read 5 biographies and #79 read 5 novels.

If I were having a book club for the Dubliners perhaps we'd visit the James Joyce Pub in Baltimore as our final session.
If I were having a book club for the Dubliners perhaps we’d visit the James Joyce Pub in Baltimore as our final session.

I’m reading James Joyce’s Dubliners now and expect to read Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck after that. Then I’m planning to watch the movie directed by and starring Gary Sinise.

Have you got any suggestions for biographies that I should read?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Finished #15, Continue #78 and #79”

  1. Of Mice & Men is one of my favourite books, I would recommend Margaret Foresters bio on Daphne Du Maurier or Linda Lear’s Beatrix Potter :- A life in Nature

Leave a Reply

