More Chippiness

The next area that needs to be cleared is the area around the big dead tree.

Vines are tangled all over the big tree.
Vines are tangled all over the big tree.

Hopefully the tree cutters will come to saw it down in the next week or so.

Before I can encroach further Charlie need to move the rain barrel and panes of glass.
Before I can encroach further Charlie needs to move the rain barrel and panes of glass.

I made a 5-foot advance at the base of the tree with the mower.

Wild grape vines get tangled in the branches of trees.
Wild grape vines get tangled in the branches of trees.

Then Charlie pulled down grape vines that had invaded the nearby maple tree.

The path next to the potager (on the right) had become overgrown.
The path next to the potager (on the right) had become overgrown.
We found some iris under the weeds. Charlie transplanted the iris.
We found some iris under the weeds. Charlie transplanted the iris.

He whacked down tall grass and weeds.

We have to ask the neighbors to save newspaper for us.
We have to ask the neighbors to save newspaper for us.

The process is to cover the ground with newspapers or cardboard.

This path leads from the driveway to the back of the yard at the side of the potager.
This path leads from the driveway to the back of the yard at the side of the potager.

Then cover the paper with chips.

The yard is becoming more manicured day by day.
The yard is becoming more manicured day by day.

This hasn’t been done since 2011.

What garden weed is your nemesis?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

12 thoughts on “More Chippiness”

  1. I had a pretty nasty run-in with poison ivy when I was 15. So that would be my nemesis.

    Isn’t it great when the post-construction cleanup successfully cleans things up? I had almost bare countertops in the kitchen this weekend!

      1. I started crapping them up again immediately, but now at least I’ve proven that it can be done! My parents’ neighbor set September 17 as the date for a neighborhood wide yard sale so… that’s our new deadline for the first round of getting rid of stuff.

  2. Poison ivy is not my friend, either. I think Bermuda grass and wild violets are the worst for me. They are almost impossible to eliminate. You’ve made great headway.

    1. We are rich in poison ivy. From time to time I hit ours with Round-up. Then I don rubber gloves and a long sleeve shirt and pull it up. It’s the only plant I treat in that way. Jo

  3. Our yard has a cornucopia of undesirable things. I don’t like dealing with the poison ivy because I can’t keep track of what clothing might get ivy oil on it. Two years ago I bagged about 10x 35 gal. garbage bags full (after getting the neighbour’s permission to take down what he had along our property line). Some had grown 20’+ up several trees. Threw out my clothes worn for that job.

  4. We are fortunate here in the Northwest not to be bothered by poison ivy (at least not in town), but the crabgrass, which didn’t used to be here at all, is my nemesis. I’m glad we have soft valley soil, not rocks or clay, which makes weeding easier. The cottage and potager are looking better all the time!

  5. Wow, the garden is looking great, Jo! It’s a lot of work with a big yard. I have more than one weed nemesis, but my biggest one has to be ivy, just normal ivy, because I have a skin allergy to it. This is most annoying because it is growing around a lot of our plants and up trees but I’m scared of it!
    -Twiglet

Leave a Reply

