Flooring Delivered

Slowly but surely the logs from our felled trees are being removed from the front yard.

The large sections of tree are heavy and awkward.
The large sections of tree are heavy and awkward.

Yesterday our son came over to move a few more logs over to the pile near the woodshed. He has promised to come from time to time and move some more. It’s a labor intensive job.

The yard was cleared enough to back a trailer up to the ramp to the front porch.
The yard was cleared enough to back a trailer up to the ramp to the front porch.

It’s a good thing he cleared the front yard because The Viking came over yesterday evening to deliver the unfinished oak flooring that I ordered here.

The trailer holds 400 square feet of oak flooring.
The trailer holds 400 square feet of oak flooring.

As he and Charlie were carrying all 400 square feet of it into the house I noticed it was the wrong size.

The kitchen floor (top) connected well to the vintage dining room floor with 2-14 inch boards.
The kitchen floor (top) connected well to the vintage dining room floor with 2-14 inch boards.

Our floorboards are 2-1/4 inches wide.

I've decided to use this flooring that is an inch wider than the original flooring in the house.
I’ve decided to use this flooring that is an inch wider than the original flooring in the house.

Unfortunately I ordered 3-1/4 inch wood.

The conservatory floor will be laid at right angles to the dining room which, hopefully, will diminish the visual variance.
The conservatory floor will be laid at right angles to the dining room which, hopefully, will diminish the visual variance.

I checked my order form and sure enough I ordered the wrong width.

The master suite hall and closet will also be floored with the new flooring.
The master suite hall and closet will also be floored with the new flooring.

Alas, I’m just going to live with it.  I can’t bear the thought of returning all this wood and reordering. I really need someone to check my figures before I order.

Have you made an error in figuring that you chose not to correct?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Flooring Delivered”

  1. Well heck, that’s so frustrating. It’s really annoying when it’s our mistake. My current issue is to put something down and not be able to find it – for days. I hope the flooring fits in better than anyone could imagine.

    1. Thank you, Barb. I almost started to cry when I discovered my stupid mistake. And your issue of putting things down and not finding them — that happens in our house on a regular basis. Jo

  2. It’s OK, Jo. From an historic preservation perspective, new additions should not try to masquerade as original. The color and material will blend, but the width doesn’t have to match. It will look great! (But yeah, I kick myself when I do stuff like that!)

    1. If I would have hired someone to do the floors and they would have made the mistake, for sure I would have made them correct it. Jo

  3. I’m sure I did the same type of thing, here and there, but such things are almost always forgotten in time. If not forgotten completely, they tend to become less important when taken in the context of the whole project.

Leave a Reply

