Getting Started Clearing Out The Cottage

I have started clearing out The Cottage following the list I made here.

Glade Cottage
Glade Cottage

I started on the first area visible inside the door.

The bed became a dumping ground because it was just inside the door.
The bed became a dumping ground because it was just inside the door.

Under the wood and bedclothes is a twin bed.

The bed was still covered with jeans I've been saving for craft projects and old bedclothes.
The bed was still covered with jeans I’ve been saving for craft projects and old bedclothes.

The wood had been moved a few weeks ago when the water heater was installed.

A large nest fell out of the covers.
A large nest fell out of the covers.

Then I pulled back all the covers which had apparently been used by a mischief of mice.

The bed had a good quilted bedpad that protected it from damage.
The bed had a good quilted bedpad that protected it from damage.

I made sure the entire mattress smelled good and I threw away all the bedclothes including 2 comforters that had been nibbled.

The bed and adjoining floor are cleaned up. Jeans on the ladder have been packed away.
The bed and adjoining floor are cleaned up. Jeans on the ladder have been packed away.

I made up the bed with clean sheets and put out some mouse traps.

Have you got any good projects for old denim?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Getting Started Clearing Out The Cottage”

  1. That’s good progress, Jo. No ideas for the denim. I have my own stashes of old clothes – just found my sleeveless summer shirts the other day.

    1. Here is Maryland when I was a child we used to have ragmen, peddlers who rode through the streets or alleys with a horse and wagon chanting “Rags”. I would love to give my pile of denim to a modern ragman. Jo

  2. I, too, have a stash of denim. I had trouble finding enough for a sewing project IN COLLEGE, and I’ve saved old jeans ever since. I have NO idea if I will ever use it. Isn’t that silly? I just. Can’t. Let go!!

  3. I really liked the idea of covering my chair in denim, but I never work on it. I might have to part with my collected denim. Hopefully, someone will come up with a good idea for you that I can use as well.

    1. I saw a denim project in a book which I might try but I’m not getting involved in anything that takes too much effort just to use old jeans. Jo

Leave a Reply

