And So I Did

Last Saturday I made a short list of tasks to complete and I’m happy to say the list is complete.

I finished covering all four dining room chair seats.
I finished covering all four dining room chair seats.

The morning was filled with stapling until all the chair seats were reupholstered. Chairs 1, Chairs 2.

The chair seats are very plain and will show stains if not protected.
The chair seats are very plain and will show stains if not protected.
I had 2 cans of ScotchGuard on hand which should be protective.
I had 2 cans of ScotchGuard on hand which should be protective.

I laid the four cushions outside and sprayed them heavily with ScotchGuard.

Exterior trim paint.
Exterior trim paint.
I don't have enough paint to finish all the shutters but I can use it as a base coat.
I don’t have enough paint to finish all the shutters but I can use it as a base coat.

I found the paint for the exterior window trim and shutters.

My dermatologist suggested Cerave for morning and night creams and Neutrogena for cosmetics.
My dermatologist suggested Cerave for morning and night creams and Neutrogena for cosmetics.

I treated myself to some skin products recommended by my dermatologist. The above brand seems to be scent-free and doesn’t irritate.

I like using liquid soap especially in the shower.
I like using liquid soap especially in the shower.

I had already been using Dove in the shower which is also recommended.

I cleared up a box and Charlie got rid of the pile in front of the dresser in the conservatory.
I cleared up a box and Charlie got rid of the pile in front of the dresser in the conservatory.
I added a standing lamp to the television side of the room so the book club could see to read.
I added a standing lamp to the television side of the room so the book club could see to read.

Finally I got rid of two boxes of clutter with Charlie’s help.

What have you been meaning to do?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “And So I Did”

Leave a Reply

