Makes Me Tired

I just plain got tired of seeing the piles of books from the Book Swap leaning up against the dining room wall.

I boxed up all the books.
I boxed up all the books.

My plan was to donate them to The Book Thing in Baltimore but, due to a fire, it’s closed until late Fall, 2016.

Charlie divided up some of the boxes and bagged them so they'd be manageable for me.
Charlie divided up some of the boxes and bagged them so they’d be manageable for me.

I did a little more research and found that I could also donate books to The Maryland Book Bank which is housed in the Baltimore Sun building downtown.

I estimate about 120 books.
I estimate about 120 books.

Charlie put the books on the porch and I slid them into my car when I got home.

Instructions said to leave the books on the loading dock and fill out a donation receipt.
Instructions said to leave the books on the loading dock and fill out a donation receipt.

I drove them down to the Book Bank and left them on the loading dock as was described on their website.

This entire space was filled with boxes of books.
This entire space was filled with boxes of books.

Now the dining room is clear of more stuff.

Baltimore boasts two free book organizations dedicated to literacy.
Baltimore boasts two free book organizations dedicated to literacy: The Book Bank and The Book Thing.

And don’t worry, I have more books in the attic to donate to The Book Thing when it’s up and running.

Are you killing two birds with one stone?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Makes Me Tired”

  1. Well done, Jo! I’m so glad you found a donation site so you didn’t have to wait so long to donate the books.

    I succeeded in my Saturday tasks though it took until Monday to do so. Mower keyhole working again (with tape over it when not in use), lawn mowed (though I discovered I missed a small area) and mower tire repaired and back on the mower. Now if I could just get the wheel cap back on I’d be all set. I’m going to buy a new one – just can’t get the old one to go back on.

Leave a Reply

