Another Mirror Change-up

We’ve been using this small (too small) mirror in the conservatory bathroom until 1) the tile backsplash is in and 2) I can find a more appropriate size.

The frame of the mirror in the conservatory bathroom should be painted a fun color.
The frame of the mirror in the conservatory bathroom should be painted a fun color.

Most bathroom mirrors start at 21 inches which is just too large so I’ve been searching for something vintage or rustic or both.

This space will ultimately need a very special size mirror after the backsplash is tiled.
This space will ultimately need a very special size mirror after the backsplash is tiled.

The  present mirror hangs too low and is too small for Charlie to get a good look at himself. He mentions it frequently.

The approximately 12" by 18" mirror was free.
The approximately 12″ by 18″ mirror was free.

I found a small rustic mirror on the “FREE” table at church which I still thought was too small but which I thought Charlie would like better.

Tiny knobs -- less than half an inch in diameter.
Tiny knobs — less than half an inch in diameter.

I removed the hooks because they didn’t make sense hanging over the sink and they were cheap looking.

The tiny knobs hid the holes where the hooks had been.
The tiny knobs hid the holes where the hooks had been.

I found in my stash some small knobs that would cover the 3 holes left from the hooks.

The mirror is not very heavy so a small hanger is enough to hold it onto the wall. I could have used the hanger holes left and right but decided not to.
The mirror is not very heavy so a small hanger is enough to hold it onto the wall. I could have used the hanger holes left and right but decided not to.

I tacked a central hanger on the back so I could use the same nail as the first mirror.

Too bad this mirror is a little longer.
Too bad this mirror is a little longer.

Charlie still can’t see himself unless he steps closer to the mirror.

Before
Before
A little change made a big improvement in the look of the mirror.
After — a little change made a big improvement in the look of the mirror.

And I’m still looking for a better mirror.

Do you try to make “freebies” work?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “Another Mirror Change-up”

  1. Oh yes, adapting is fun. What about using using a frame (or molding) so you can make it the size you want and filling it with a mirror cut to size?

    1. I’m hoping I won’t have to resort to that but it’s in the back of my mind. For now I’m fine with this little mirror because I can myself fine. If you’re 5’5″ your face is centered. Jo

  2. those little knobs are freakin’ adorable!!! they remind me of dollhouse furniture. huge improvement over the hooks, and they’d be good for necklaces or something. although that might be weird over the sink too. very cool free find!

Leave a Reply

