Mower Bargaining

For the past couple of days I’ve been looking for a ride-on mower.

This small Honda mower was for sale in a local front yard.
This small Honda mower was for sale in a local front yard.

I put out the word to a couple friends a couple of days ago that I was in the market for a used mower in the under $500 range. Early yesterday morning while walking her dog my friend saw a Honda ride-on mower.

The mower has a double bagger.
The mower has a double bagger.

After receiving texts with photos of the mower and the seller’s phone number, Charlie called and found the price was $600 or best offer. The mower has a double bagging system which should work great for our leaved in autumn.

Similar, almost-new mowers were offered on Craigslist.
Similar, almost-new mowers were offered on Craigslist.

I did a little research and realized the mower was probably worth half of the quoted price.

We drove over to see it and while we didn’t want to offend the nice man who was selling the mower, Charlie offered $300.

We said our top price is $350. The owner said he couldn’t go below $450 so we thanked him and went home.

Later Charlie got a phone call and the owner said he would take $350. We stopped at the bank to get cash and returned to pick up the mower.

I followed Charlie down the street in my car with my flashers on.
I followed Charlie down the street in my car with my flashers on.

Charlie drove it about 10 blocks down to our friend’s storage shed.

The collection hose has an easy clog clearing mechanism.
The collection hose has an easy clog clearing mechanism.

It will rest there until we can convince her brother to drive it to our house in his truck.

We're storing the mower next to our friend's John Deere for a few days.
We’re storing the mower next to our friend’s John Deere for a few days.

I hope we don’t have to wait too long for the mower because our grass is getting long.

Who mows at your house?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Mower Bargaining”

  1. I use a riding mower on a yard that has many sloping areas. It was pretty darn scary the first few times but that was way back in 2007. Hope your mower works out well for you.

    1. I’m not too good with mechanical things but I think I can take a spin around the yard. Hoping Charlie will want to “show me how it’s done” over and over again. Jo

  2. Hope your “new” mower is a winner! Eric is the official mower/edger here. Of course, for many years I was single, so I had plenty of mowing time under my belt, too. I’m perfectly happy to have passed the crown to him!

  3. Great find with the mower – and good for you for sticking to what you new to be a fair price. sounds like he realized it, too… (the seller). that must have been fun to drive it 10 blocks down the roads! glad to hear you’re able to have fun with it, too, in the yard. our yard it tiny and unfortunately gravel (although i’m pondering how to change that). so no mowing for us.

Leave a Reply

