Balls in the Attic

I’ve been taking trash and treasure out of the attic for a few months.

I found two bowling balls in the attic that I've been preserving for at least 30 years.
I found two bowling balls in the attic that I’ve been preserving for at least 30 years.

Recently I found 2 bowling balls up there.  Considering the condition my shoulders and knees are in I doubt I will ever again bowl.

Picturing gazing balls in the entrance to the potager.
Picturing gazing balls in the entrance to the potager.

But we do have a garden so I looked up gazing balls on Pinterest and found lots of inspiration.

I cleaned the balls well with vinegar and water then went over them again with an alcohol wipe.
I cleaned the balls well with vinegar and water then went over them again with an alcohol wipe.

In view of the success I had here with chrome spray paint, I decided to chromicize one of these balls and add them to our potager décor.

The ball immediately took on a mirror-like finish.
The ball immediately took on a mirror-like finish.

After cleaning them very well I sprayed the balls with chrome spray paint. I was careful to give light, even coats to deter drips and runs.

I sprayed 3 old balls and a gold tray.
I sprayed 3 old balls and a gold tray.

I found 3 smaller balls that received the same treatment.

The new gazing ball is set on an old birdbath pedestal.
The new gazing ball is set on an old birdbath pedestal.

Now they’re on display at the end of the driveway.

Is your garden art recycled? Disposable?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Balls in the Attic”

  1. Well done, Jo! It looks really good. My neighbor who sometimes does work for me is fond of saying “Barbara likes old rusty things. Save that for her.” His wife is the same way so he’s well trained.

    1. It’s raining (again) today and it looks nice with raindrops on it, too. It’s just for fun and I’ll keep it as long as it lasts. Jo

  2. The balls look great and are probably excited to be out of the attic (but how would you tell?). I bet they’ve never seen a garden or felt rain before.

Leave a Reply

