Intruder Alert!

Yes, that’s the subject of the email I got from Charlie: Intruder Alert!

The attic vent on the middle of the picture sometimes attracts scary creatures.
The attic vent on the middle of the picture sometimes attracts scary creatures.

It was a shocking and I couldn’t open the email fast enough.

Our attic vents are screen to keep bats and other creatures outside.
Our attic vents are screened to keep bats and other creatures outside.

Turns out that while he was in the attic he noticed there was a bat hanging in the vent OUTSIDE of the screen. I see that bat almost every time I go up in attic.

A black snake slithering across the road.
A black snake slithering across the road.

In the same email was a snake, a black snake I think, crossing the road.  That is one of the reason I like to keep the grass cut, especially up by the house.  I don’t mind that we have snakes and that they eat rodents.  I just don’t want to be surprised by one.

Little by little we're clearing useless (to us) stuff from the attic.
Little by little we’re clearing useless (to us) stuff from the attic.

But I digress.  Please notice that a portion of the attic has been cleared out and vacuumed.

Lacrosse sticks
Lacrosse sticks

I posted some old sports equipment on my local “Buy Nothing” Facebook page. (Everything listed is free.)

Tennis Racquets
Tennis Racquets

Hope somebody can use this stuff instead of buying before they’re sure it’s their thing.

Where does your old stuff go?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

12 thoughts on “Intruder Alert!”

  1. That attic is very impressive! I take stuff to Salvation Army. The danger is that I will also go in and look around before I leave.

  2. We either donate or if it’s something big and/or metal, we usually leave it in our alley and it never fails that someone will pick it up pretty quickly. Can’t the Lacrosse sticks be used to catch bats…I think I saw that it in a movie 😀

  3. We have a local organization called “Abilities Unlimited”. They state their mission as the following: to improve the living and working conditions and opportunities for individuals with developmental disabilities. They have a little resale shop called the UNLIMITED Resale Boutique where they sell the items you donate. After my recent yard sale I loaded all the leftovers into my car and donated them. I have some furniture I plan to donate later too.

  4. The bat is adorable. At least he was on the outside! We donate a lot to Good Will. They come by with a big truck and pick up whatever we leave on the curb [they do monthly pickups].

    1. Every so often one will fly through the house; that I don’t like. But with all the rain we really need a mosquito eater. Jo

    1. I’m surprised we don’t have more bats. This one must be a loner because I’m pretty sure our neighbor has a bat house. Jo

Leave a Reply

