Sunflower “Vanilla Ice”

I finally convinced Charlie to plant some sunflowers for me.

I like sunflowers to grown along the back (on the right in the photo) of the garden. They're obviously missing in this 2015 photo.
I like sunflowers to grown along the back (on the right in the photo) of the garden. They’re obviously missing in this 2015 photo.

Last year he kept promising but never got around to it.

I have packets of sunflower seeds from Botanical Interests.
I have packets of sunflower seeds from Botanical Interests.

I had a few packets of Botanical Interests’ sunflower “Vanilla Ice” on hand because I love white flowers.

We grew these pale miniature, Italian White, sunflowers in 2013 and I loved them right into Autumn.
We grew these pale miniature, Italian White, sunflowers in 2013 and I loved them right into Autumn.

In the past we have planted “Italian White” which were dainty flowers on 4-foot stems.

Charlie's about 5'-10" so that makes the sunflowers over 8 feet tall.
Charlie’s about 5′-10″ so that makes the sunflowers over 8 feet tall.

We have also planted the happy-faced traditional yellow sunflowers.

Charlie used a mattock to clear out a ditch for the sunflower seeds.
Charlie used a mattock to clear out a ditch for the sunflower seeds.

“Vanilla Ice” is supposed to grow 4 to 7 feet tall and have 6-inch diameter blooms.

Looking from the other direction, the seeds are planted. 4 seeds per hill times 16 hills.
Looking from the other direction, the seeds are planted. 4 seeds per hill times 16 hills.

Won’t that be lovely?

What are you planting now?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Sunflower “Vanilla Ice””

  1. It will be lovely. I’m slowly planting my many purchases from some plant sales. Then I have to remember to keep them watered.

    1. We have had nothing but rain for the past two weeks so the watering is out of our hands. Generally, Charlie keeps an eye on that in the veg garden and my flowers enjoy the runoff. Jo

  2. I love white flowers, too! I always love seeing white hibiscus in Hawaii because I never see them around here. Can’t wait to see the progress of your Vanilla Ices! Love your garden…

Leave a Reply

