Lighter Curtains

Since changing the sofa cover from dark grey back to white the still unfinished living room curtains look a little heavy.

The slip cover is changed for the summer.
The slip cover is changed for the summer.

I found some billowy curtains in Soft Belongings I like but at over $100 per panel I’m going to look around a bit for something cheaper.

I was attracted to this print also.
I was attracted to this print also.

Headed to these stores: Home Goods, Marshalls, Ross, and TJ Maxx.

This subtle embroidered paisley design was my first choice.
This subtle embroidered paisley design was my first choice.

Home Goods has a nice embroidered panel in an off-white color.  I would need 4 panels but alas there was only one.

White eyelet panels at Home Goods.
White eyelet panels at Home Goods.

The Cynthia Rowley eyelet would have been nice and a good price but at only 84 inches long they would be too short. Same for the Laura Ashley curtains.

White plisse churtains.
White plisse churtains.

I found some unpriced pure-white plisse panels at Marshalls.  They are 96 inches long and $30 for 2 panels. I bought 2 sets.  I checked the final two stores but found nothing better.

Changing out these curtains.
Changing out these curtains.

When I got home I took down the still unfinished curtains I started in 2014.

The curtains hooks onto curtain clips.
The curtains hooked onto curtain clips.

On the front window I hung the white panels with clips.

Curtains hung by sewn-in tabs.
Curtains hung by sewn-in tabs.

Behind the sofa I hung the curtains using the tabs that were sewn into the back of the panel.

Hanging from the tabs, the curtains just brush the floor.
Hanging from the tabs, the curtains just brush the floor.

They are the perfect length when hanging from the sewn in tabs and I think they actually look better this way.

Which hanging style do you prefer?
Which hanging style do you prefer?

Unfortunately the stark white fabric doesn’t really look great with the creamy white sofa, Revere Pewter walls, and natural linen shades.

The white curtains need to be converted to the color of natural linen.
The white curtains need to be converted to the color of natural linen.

Naturally my plan is to dye the new curtains.  The color I’m going for is close to the shade tone.  The question is do I try to tea dye the fabric or buy some commercial dye.

Do you change up your décor with the seasons?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Lighter Curtains”

  1. I might try the tea staining for a bit of a softer look. Different teas give different color effects. Nope, not-so-much here for seasonal decor….just enjoy more light and the effect that gives. Of course, there is the outdoor decor too!

Leave a Reply

