10-Minute Chore

Challenged by Emily A Clark to do a 10-minute chore.

I found a small box at the bottom of the pile on the right.
I found a small box at the bottom of the pile on the right.

I’m choosing another box from the attic.

This is a large (4 inch diameter) Limoges hinged-top receptacle.
This is a large (4 inch diameter) Limoges hinged-top receptacle.

I found a small box with glass and china dishes and trinket boxes.

The handle is gold-painted porcelain.
The handle is gold-painted porcelain.

Is this a ladies powder bowl or a silent butler? I have no idea what its particular use was.

The shape is more interesting than the scene.
The shape is more interesting than the scene.

There’s another hinged Limoges box with a romantic pastoral scene.  This one is egg-shaped and about 4 inches long.

This is not a tiny box -- about twice the size of my other Limoges boxes.
This is not a tiny box — about twice the size of my other Limoges boxes.

Probably just held trinkets in a lady’s boudoir.

This little bowl (about 3 inches in diameter) has a matching plate.
This little bowl (about 3 inches in diameter) has a matching plate.

Also I found a small bowl with a matching plate painted with tiny pink roses. The bowl is about an inch tall. It’s so sweet.

A small gold-rimmed glass pedestal dish big enough for a personal serving of macarons.
A small gold-rimmed glass pedestal dish big enough for a personal serving of macarons.

There was a very small (again about 4 inches) pedestal plate which is about big enough for one cupcake.

A divided dish -- pickles and olives, lemons and cherries, craisins and almonds.
A divided dish — pickles and olives, lemons and cherries, craisins and almonds.

A larger (about 8inches long) divided dish looked to be hand-painted.

I think this is the cutest dish.
I think this is the cutest dish.

And a small round yellow dish with flat handles.  I like this one best.

As for the chore part — everything has been washed and put away.

What in your attic?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “10-Minute Chore”

    1. I’m going to try this again today. And, by the way, all the stuff I found is not staying. I’m waving bye-bye to it. Jo

  1. Insulation. Wish I had a storage space but it gets too hot and cold since the insulation is not along the roof line but over the “floor” that is the ceiling of the rooms below the attic. It looks like you found some real treasures in that box.

    1. That’s how our attic is insulated but there is also a floor over the insulation. I think that’s what keeps the house cool in summer/warm in winter and also preserves the roof. Jo

    1. Can’t keep everything although I’d like to. These belonged to my mother among many other things I now have. I’ll offer them to my sister and niece and if they don’t want them, they’re out of here. Jo

Leave a Reply

