Attacking My 101 in 1001

In order to finish my challenge of executing 101 tasks in 1001 days, I decided to focus on a few tasks at a time.

Not on the list -- Hoping the sinks will be installed this week.
Not on the list — Hoping the sinks will be installed this week.

In the past week I have completed:

#23  Do an anonymous favor.

I enlisted an unknowing accomplice to give a thank you card with cash enclosed to a person who is struggling to finance a children’s ministry.

#28  Put a note somewhere (like in a book) for a stranger to find.

Here’s a task I will probably never know the outcome of.  The note was encouraging and tucked in a hymnal.  

#87  Send anonymous flowers to someone.

The urns at work are filled with cheery flowers.
The urns at work are filled with cheery flowers.

I decided to get a hanging basket instead of cut flowers. When I couldn’t find one as pretty as the flowers filling the urns at work, our farm manager offered to provide one.  I left it on the steps of an unsuspecting friend.

#94  Organize cookbooks.

My cookbooks are in a shambles.
My cookbooks are in a shambles.
Neater and easier to access.
Neater and easier to access.

The cookbooks are still old and torn but no longer in disarray.

Now that these are accomplished, I’m attacking 4 more tasks.

#15 Host a Book Club.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I’m not sure I know 8 people who would like to read a book together and discuss it.  At first I thought I’d choose a short book but now I’ve decided to go with a classic: To Kill a Mocking Bird.  After we read the 384 page book I would plan to watch the movie starring Gregory Peck.

#43 Treat a friend to lunch.

Salad and Duck in Paris was a nice lunch.
Salad and Duck in Paris was a nice lunch.

This should be so easy and so done by now.  Problem is I work during the week where lunch is provided which leaves only Saturdays and Sundays to complete this item.  The person I was planning to take to lunch just told me she prefers not to eat in restaurants so maybe I’ll have to think in another direction.  But actually the wording allows for me to prepare lunch and offer it.  I think I’m the one who would actually like to go out to a restaurant. I’m shooting for finishing this on Saturday.

#50 Read the Bible in a year.

I'll be reading the books in chronological order.
I’ll be reading the books in chronological order.

Since my 101 Tasks in 1001 Days ends a little more than a year from now, I realized I’d better get started.  There are a number of methods to reading the Bible:

Beginning to End: Read the Bible from start to finish, from Genesis to Revelation.

Chronological: Read the Bible as its events occurred in real time. For example, Job lived sometime after the beginning of creation (Genesis 1) but before Abraham was born (Genesis 12). As a result, the Book of Job is integrated into the Book of Genesis.

Historical: Read the books of the Bible as they were written historically, according to the estimated date of their writing.

New then Old: Read through the New Testament first, then read through the Old Testament.

Old and New: Each day includes a passage from both the Old Testament and New Testament.

I’m choosing “Chronological” and using this website. I’ll be starting May 1st. 

#83 Visit a botanical garden.

Baltimore's Victorian Botanical Garden structure.
Baltimore’s Victorian Botanical Garden structure.

Spring should be a grand time to visit a botanical garden.  The most convenient one for me to visit is the Rawlings Conservatory & Botanic Gardens in Druid Hill Park in Baltimore.  Open Wednesday through Sunday, 10-4. Shooting for May 1st.

This is a more challenging list than the former. I started with the easiest items first.  But I’m encouraged to get keep going.

Do you have something special planned for this week?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

3 thoughts on “Attacking My 101 in 1001”

  1. You are making good progress. I think your plan on focusing on a few tasks at a time is a good one. I need plant everything that I’ve purchased lately, especially before the weather warms up too much.

    1. As much as I’d like to plant beautiful things, I must lay out the new foundation plan first. Hope some inspiration hits SOON!. Jo

  2. what a wonderful list of things to accomplish! i’m sure you did and will brighten many people’s day! i am amused that your friend doesn’t like to eat in restaurants. i’ve never heard anyone say that before!

Leave a Reply

