A Clearing in the Attic

As we’ve been bringing books down from the attic for the Book Swap we saw other things that could also be removed.

Top of the attic steps -- Before.
Top of the attic steps — Before.

Usually looking left at the top of the attic steps the view was totally packed with boxes and baskets.

The same view after a little clearing.
The same view after a little clearing.

After removing a couple of boxes of books, a bookshelf, and 2 leaves for the dining room table I can actually see attic floor.

I have a pair of these old Ikea bookshelves.
I have a pair of these old Ikea bookshelves.

The bookshelf is going out on the porch.

Usually the dining room table is 72 inches long.
Usually the dining room table is 72 inches long.
The table now takes up the entire dining room and has lots of rooms for books.
The table now takes up the entire dining room and has lots of rooms for books.

Charlie and I turned the dining room table 90 degrees and added 2 leaves which  creates a 120-inch long table.

I'll have to sort my books.
I’ll have to sort my books.

Next item is to make labels for the various categories of books:

  • Fiction: Adventure, Romance, Mystery
  • Self help and Health
  • Children
  • Religion, Spirituality, Prayer
  • Science, Math, Computers
  • Anthologies, Poetry
  • Cookbooks
  • Biographies, Autobiographies
  • DIY, Décor, Art
  • Science Fiction, Fantasy

Have I omitted your favorite genre?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “A Clearing in the Attic”

  1. Doesn’t it feel great to find stuff tucked away and realize you have a spot where you can use it? The bookshelf on the porch is a great idea. I hope you are successful at losing some books at your book swap. My fear would be that I would end up with more than I offered up to others.

    1. I try to get to a box or two each week. I was shooting for daily purging but that was a ridiculous notion. I found a large box of stuffed animals. I’m just going to save a few. Jo

      1. i had a very hard time parting with my collection of stuffed animals. it’s hard to say goodbye to old friends! it took me years of tossing one or 2 a year. i still have 3 bears that i will never get rid of 🙂

Leave a Reply

