Paying Attention to My 101 in 1001

In order to finish my challenge of executing 101 tasks in 1001 days, I decided to focus on a few tasks at a time.

Some of the projects pertain to the house -- we've come a long way.
Some of the projects pertain to the house — we’ve come a long way.

On August 12th of 2014 I began my new list of 101 tasks that I would like to complete in 1001 days for the third time. (First list ended 11/13/2011, second list 8/11/2014) until May 9, 2017.  Completed items are markedComplete! with the date of completion.

In a year we'd like some of the landscaping to be finished.
In a year we’d like some of the landscaping to be finished.

I have just about one year remaining and much of the list still to accomplish.

Last month I added:

#9  In the near future I’m hoping to have a dinner party for 8. I’ve planned the guest list and menu, only the date is up in the air.

Our dinner party will need candlelight to brighten up our dining room.
Our dinner party will need candlelight to brighten up our dining room.

#16  Find a waterfall.  I’ve found one now we just need to visit it.

Cunningham Falls in Maryland
Cunningham Falls in Maryland

#33  Start sorting through my wardrobe which is sprawled out 3 three rooms.  I have a dress I made in college — 40 years ago — do you think I’ll wear it again?

The closet in the back bedroom, Treetops Room, has a closet full of my clothes.
The closet in the back bedroom, Treetops Room, has a closet full of my clothes.

#38  Make a photo album of my mother.

Still scanning photos -- left to right: me, grandmother, mother.
Still scanning photos — left to right: me, grandmother, mother.

#71  Finish the bedroom bookshelves.  Unfortunately we can’t complete this project without our friend the carpenter to whom I now refer as “The Viking”.

Can't wait until these shelves are finished.
Can’t wait until these shelves are finished.

The above items turned out to be more long-term than I expected so this month I’m adding to those a few that I think I can accomplish immediately if I put my mind to it.

#23  Do an anonymous favor.

Whole doesn't love CASH?
Who doesn’t love CASH?

My plan is to give one of our church’s long-time Sunday School teachers funds (CASH) for the monthly children’s outing.  She has been paying for these out of her own pocket. (She’s not a blog reader so please don’t tell her if you are.)

#28  Put a note somewhere (like in a book) for a stranger to find.

I'll just use plain card stock already on hand to write my notes.
I’ll just use plain card stock already on hand to write my notes.

I am writing a short encouraging  note and sticking it in a hymnal.  I may make more than one.  This could be fun.

Here are 3 to start with:

  1. You’re not like anyone else. You’re awesome, beautiful, smart caring, and a little crazy.        
  2. You are more important than you realize.
  3. The character traits of Barnabas – his goodness, faith, big heartedness, courage, generosity, humbleness, self-sacrifice, open-mindedness, boldness – remind me of you.

#87  Send anonymous flowers to someone.

A dozen roses is $10 -- what a treat.
A dozen roses is $10 — what a treat.

I know just the person.  I can set flowers on her step and she’ll never even know who brought them.  My dilemma: cut flowers or potted plant?

#94  Organize cookbooks.

An old favorite.
An old favorite.

I have about 6 cookbooks which should not be difficult to arrange on the shelf.  The tricky part is throwing away the additional bits of paper which clutters up the space.

I tell you these things to encourage you to come up with your own creative ideas, in your own style. You might need an accomplice to accomplish some escapades. I have one.

Have you got an escapade up your sleeve?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Paying Attention to My 101 in 1001”

  1. You come from a line of good looking women! From the pictures of you I’ve seen on the blog, you really resemble them. Strong genes. It sounds like you’ll accomplish these tasks pretty easily. I was doing well on the paper decluttering and am now bogged down again. But there’s hope!

    1. Thank you for the nice compliment. #23 and #28 are complete. They were fun. Looking forward to #87. Hang in there with the paper clutter. Jo

  2. Oh, I love some of these ideas! Thanks for the inspiration!
    And I really like the bank of cabinets with seat cushions in the Dining Room too. Is there a window along there somewhere? Of course, who doesn’t like candle light for a dinner party?

    YOU are awesome, indeed! ( I only know you via blogs, so this is sort of anonymous! 😉 😉

Leave a Reply

