My Favorite Brownie Recipe

I’m not a fan of chocolate cake but that does not include brownies.

I always mark in my cookbooks whether or not a recipe is good -- worth making again -- after the first try.
I always mark in my cookbooks whether or not a recipe is good — worth making again — after the first try.

I like brownies and I especially like the easy, made-from-scratch recipe that I have been using for at least 20 years.

My Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.
My Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.

The recipe comes from my copy of the Better Home and Gardens Cookbook circa 1990.  I say “my” copy because I also have my mother’s edition from the 1950s.  They are different.

I always substitute 1 tablespoon of butter and 3 tablespoons of cocoa for a square of unsweetened baker's chocolate.
I always substitute 1 tablespoon of butter and 3 tablespoons of cocoa for a square of unsweetened baker’s chocolate.

So the recipe begins by melting the half cup of butter in the recipe with 2 extra tablespoon and 6 tablespoons of cocoa is a small saucepan.  The entire recipe can be made in this small saucepan.

The flour and eggs are added to the chocolate/sugar mixture.
The flour and eggs are added to the chocolate/sugar mixture.

The sugar, eggs, and vanilla are added to the chocolate/butter mixture off the heat.

I scraped the seeds from inside this vanilla pod -- used the seeds discarded the pod.
I scraped the seeds from inside this vanilla pod — used the seeds discarded the pod.

I ran out of vanilla extract so I scraped the seeds from a vanilla bean and used those instead in the recipe.

I'll make the brownies in my heart-shaped tin for this special occasion.
I’ll make the brownies in my heart-shaped tin for this special occasion.

I usually bake the brownies in a muffin tin or the above heart-shaped tin for special occasions.

Mix just until the ingredients are incorporated. Small lumps are good.
Mix just until the ingredients are incorporated. Small lumps are good.

I also don’t put nuts in my brownies but it’s in the recipe.

I would say these are chewy brownies.
I would say these are chewy brownies.

These brownies are not cakey and they’re not gooey.

Alone, iced, or served with ice cream these are substantial.
Alone, iced, or served with ice cream these are substantial.

They hold up well to ice cream and fudge sauce. I like them because they’re not too sweet.

Do you prefer chocolate or vanilla?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Brownie Recipe”

Leave a Reply

