Letting It Go Bit by Bit

Back in 2012 and 2013 I had a lot of posts on decluttering.  I was seriously trying to get rid of our clutter.  If anyone is interested just use my sidebar search: “Get Rid of 50 Things”.

This is serious decluttering.
This is serious decluttering.

Then I kind of let my foot off the gas.

I roll my sweaters in the KonMarie Method.
I roll my sweaters in the KonMarie Method.

In the mean time, while there are certain things I don’t have time for, I can go through items a little at a time.  I know this method is the opposite of the KonMari Method but it’s what I have time to do in the 30 minutes before I leave for work each morning.

Almost every room in the house has a stash of tools in disarray.
Almost every room in the house has a stash of tools in disarray.

Recently I’m going through piles of stuff and finding new homes for some of it.

I decided that hanging our tablecloths in the conservatory (next to the dining room) closet would be more convenient that the laundry room (upstairs).
I decided that hanging our tablecloths in the conservatory (next to the dining room) closet would be more convenient that the laundry room (upstairs).

For example I’ve given away 3 perfectly good table cloths. I still have plenty, don’t worry.

Doesn't everyone have a pile of mismatched socks?
Doesn’t everyone have a pile of mismatched socks?

And I had some odd towels which our son was happy to incorporate into his home.  I also went through our pile of socks and matched up a half dozen pairs which he acquired — lucky boy.

I'm filling this bag with sheet sets that don't fit any bed in our house.
I’m filling this bag with sheet sets that don’t fit any bed in our house.

Said son was also gifted extra pots and pans, sheets, and his casual clothing that was still boxed up at our house.

I can't locate our anchor door knocker, original to the house, which I put away for safe keeping back in 2012.
I can’t locate our anchor door knocker, original to the house, which I put away for safe keeping back in 2012.

As I was searching for certain items that have been misplaced in the renovation, the front door knocker for example, I realized we not only have boxes of STUFF on the 2 main floors of the house but that the attics — house and cottage — have boxes of books and, and, and stuff.

Books
We have boxes of books that we never look at.  Time for another book swap.

It’s mostly got to GO! I feel a swap meet coming on.

What keeps you from getting rid of stuff?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

6 thoughts on “Letting It Go Bit by Bit”

  1. I think “I’ll have a sale” but that doesn’t seem to happen. It’s a lot of work and I live out in the country, so it’s not as easy as when I lived in town. Our little country area is supposed to be having one this April (!!!!) or in June, so yikes! I’d better get on the stick. But I have a feeling I’ll be making some runs to Salvation Army in a month or two. You have encouraged me, though, to start clearing out. That and the fact that I can’t find things when I want them.

    1. I live at the end of a dead end so sales have never really been too well-attended. If it’s worth something I Craigslist it otherwise I’ll have to find the right donation place for various things. Jo

  2. My town has a city-wide yard sale every year, and I always have the best of intentions, but it’s so much work to prepare. I did my mom’s estate sale and it was quite the experience, so I need to get over my avoidance!

    1. I’m just not a yard sale person because I don’t like selling things for pennies on the dollar. In that case I rather give it away. Of course I’m happy to buy things at a good yard sale. Jo

  3. I keep stuff because it is worth money and I always feel like I should sell it. I’ve had two yard sales in the past three years, but there is still so much that we need to get rid of. I think I ignore it because that’s the easiest solution. I like your thirty minutes a day plan.

Leave a Reply

