Baking Day

I started at 6:45 a.m. on Saturday morning following Rachel Falco’s recipe for Honey Wheat Bread.

Ingredients for honey wheat bread.
Ingredients for honey wheat bread.

The first waiting period is one and a half hours.

My brownie recipe is made in one small saucepan before baking.
My brownie recipe is made in one small saucepan before baking.

During that time I started the prep for my darling son’s birthday dinner. As usual I made a written timeline for the entire menu this time including the making of bread to keep me on track for the entire day. I have been known to inadvertently omit a prepared dish that I had stashed in the fridge or oven or pantry so now I use a visual check list.

I make brownies in heart-shapes and muffin tins.
I make brownies in heart-shapes and muffin tins.

I also made homemade, heart-shaped brownies in preparation for a brownie sundae.

This whole wheat bread is light and tasty.
This whole wheat bread is light and tasty.

Both the bread and the brownies were a hit at dinner.

Do you have a favorite bread recipe?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

15 thoughts on “Baking Day”

    1. I was thinking how brownies in mini-muffins with some topping or other would be a great little bite-size nibbles for parties. Jo

  1. The bread looks lovely, Jo. And the brownies look pretty good too! I never thought of using a muffin pan. I’ll try to remember that.

    1. I have made whole wheat bread before which was like a rock.. This is light and fluffy, good toasted with a schmear of butter. Jo

    1. I might become a bread baker. Who knew? I’m actually trying to encourage Charlie to take it over as it’s more his area. I don’t think he’d use whole wheat. Jo

Leave a Reply

