I’m Upgraded

Today I traded in my LG Expressions phone for an iPhone.

I thought I was up-to-date because I didn't have a flip phone -- but my red phone was not smart.
I thought I was up-to-date because I didn’t have a flip phone — but my red phone was not smart.

My old phone was so old that I could not use a transfer app to move my contacts.

Calvin spent about half an hour setting up my new phone and teaching me how to use it.
Calvin spent about half an hour setting up my new phone and teaching me how to use it.

Instead I had to stop into an AT&T store and let them have at it.

I never asked for nor used any of the 3 accessories which cluttered my phone.
I never asked for nor used any of the 3 accessories which cluttered my phone.

One of the items that let me know my old phone’s out-datedness was that new icons kept popping up on the home screen which I could not delete.

iPhone 6s in Space Gray
iPhone 6s in Space Gray

I knew the end was near.

I hope I get accustomed to the larger size.
I hope I get accustomed to the larger size.

Now that I’m living in the 21st century I feel more connected.

Coach wristlet is the perfect size to hold the iPhone 6s.
Coach wristlet is the perfect size to hold the iPhone 6s.

And a bonus is that it fits perfectly in a Coach wristlet my sister gave me.

Sidebar: I was not perked nor paid in any way for this post.

Can you give me a smart-phone tip that will be helpful to this newby?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

2 thoughts on “I’m Upgraded”

  1. Congratulations! I went from the very basic Motorola small flip phone to a 5C iPhone a couple of years ago. It was not a happy transition, until I was with my sisters on a road trip and finally figured out that I could put in an address in the Maps app and then tell Siri to turn on Navigation. Siri has a really hard time understanding my voice to having the address or town typed into Maps eased that issue a little. Turning on the little microphone image in Messages or email is an easy way to get around typing. Siri seems to do a little better for me there.

    Have fun learning your phone. It took me a year before I began to appreciate mine and I’m not using it at all close to its potential.

Leave a Reply

