How I Blue My Eggs

I showed you here how I blew my eggs.

The year of the Blue egg.
The year of the Blue egg.

Now I have another egg project that doesn’t involve blowing, instead bluing.

I hard-boil eggs by the steam method: set eggs in 1/2 inch of water, simmer for 6 minutes, then off the heat (without opening the lid) for another 6 minutes.
I hard-boil eggs by the steam method: set eggs in 1/2 inch of water, simmer for 6 minutes, then off the heat (without opening the lid) for another 6 minutes.

These eggs start by being hard-boiled with the steam method.

The goal is blue eggs from red/purple cabbage.
The goal is blue eggs from red/purple cabbage.

At the same time I cut up a head of red/purple cabbage and covered it with water.

The cabbage water turns a brilliant magenta almost immediately.
The cabbage water turns a brilliant magenta almost immediately.

Let this simmer for at least half an hour.  When the all the color has been extracted from the cabbage, strain it.

White vinegar and salt help to set the dye (I think).
White vinegar and salt help to set the dye (I think).

Add 1/4 cup white vinegar and 1/4 cup salt to the dye.

Lower the eggs gently into the dye.
Lower the eggs gently into the dye.

Carefully submerge the hard-boiled eggs.

After a few minutes in the dye bath the eggs did not seem to be taking on any color.
After a few minutes in the dye bath the eggs did not seem to be taking on any color.

The eggs didn’t seem to be coloring at all so I took each one out and rubbed it with a clean make-up sponge soaked in white vinegar.

Rubbing the eggs with white vinegar produced dirty debris which I washed off the eggs.
Rubbing the eggs with white vinegar produced dirty debris which I washed off the eggs.

This step seemed to remove a layer of gunk that may not have allowed the dye to soak in properly.

The dying solution was a deep magenta when the eggs were dropped in.
The dying solution was a deep magenta when the eggs were dropped in.
Twelve hours later the solution had turned almost black.
Twelve hours later the solution had turned almost black.

I reimmersed them and let sit overnight for the deepest color.

The white eggs which hadn't colored at all the night before turned magically blue.
The white eggs which hadn’t colored at all the night before turned magically blue.

I was delighted in the morning to find the eggs had been dyed a deep and variegated denim blue.

Cabbage dyed eggs.
Cabbage dyed eggs.

I set the wet eggs in an egg carton to dry.

Denim colored eggs.
Denim colored eggs.

We won’t eat these although they were made in a totally natural way. I’ll keep them refrigerated until next week when they go on display.

Update:  When I took the eggs out of the refrigerator 4 days later they had turned turquoise.

Do you have special plans for Saint Patrick’s Day?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “How I Blue My Eggs”

Leave a Reply

