Odds and Ends

This post is just to bring you up to date on things that are happening at The Glade which don’t require their own post.

Glade Cottage

Glade Cottage has been on my mind because it is so beautiful in spring it deserves a little TLC.

In addition to furniture and tool storage, The Cottage holds future projects like the French garden chairs.
In addition to furniture and tool storage, The Cottage holds future projects like the French garden chairs.

I was just ready to store the chairs under the blue sheet in the attic when our son called and said he wanted those chairs.

There are still lots of items cluttering the Cottage but it's improving.
There are still lots of items cluttering the Cottage but it’s improving.

Come and get them!

We both received this dessert plate on the house. It put us right over the top.
We both received this dessert plate on the house. It put us right over the top.

In the past 2 weeks Charlie and I both had birthdays. We finally had the chance to head down to Annapolis and have an extravagant dinner made possible by our choir. Thank you, choir.

This looks like a reasonably tame goal.
This looks like a reasonably tame goal.

And Number 41 on my “101 Tasks to Do in 1001 Days” list I noted “Ride on a Vespa”.

I almost ripped her jacket off I was holding on so tight and I have black bruises by both my knees.
I almost ripped her jacket off I was holding on so tight and I have black bruises by both my knees.

This past week a friend of mine bought herself a Harley-Davidson motorcycle and for the first time in my life I rode on one.  I might let that count for the #41 challenge.

I think I'd do much better in a sidecar.
I think I’d do much better in a sidecar.

We reminded me of the British cooking team of Clarissa Dickson Wright and the late Jennifer Paterson, Two Fat Ladies, on their Triumph above.

I almost bought this little beauty but its top speed is less than 40 miles per hour.
I almost bought this little beauty but its top speed is less than 40 miles per hour.

I even looked into buying a Vespa but decided against it because: 1.) if it goes fast enough to ride on the road I’ll need a motorcycle license and 2.) I don’t think I’d use it much.

Our carpenter has been bugging me to get this done so he can install.
Our carpenter has been bugging me to get this done so he can install.

And lest you think I’ve totally given up on the renovation I painted the special (read that: expensive) trim for the round windows in the two new showers.

Should I hold out for a Vespa ride?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Odds and Ends”

  1. Well, I’d pass on the Vespa myself, but that’s me. Sounds to me like your ride with your friend might well count towards fulfilling that goal. The birthday desserts look delicious. Happy Birthday to you both.

    1. That’s what my friend is counting on. She keeps telling me how to shift gears hoping I’ll get the bug. Then another friend told me if you get hit in the face by a bug while you’re riding it feels like a bullet. I’m pretty sure I’m not destined to have my own bike. Jo

      1. ya, bugs do hurt! i have a full face helmet and usually keep my visor down because of that. rain hurts too! i’ve only been caught in the rain once and it feels like being stung by bees.

Leave a Reply

