How I Blew My Eggs

In order to do this project I needed hollow eggshells.

I started with 7 fresh eggs some of which I cracked trying to poke holes in the end.
I started with 7 fresh, room temperature eggs.

The best how-to explanation I could find was at Martha Stewart.

My Exacto kit has many blade choices.
My Exacto kit has many blade choices.

The necessary tools are something with which to poke a hole (I used an Exacto knife), something to break up the egg yolk (I used a paper clip), and something to blow out the egg (I used an ear syringe).

Poking the hole takes patience and finesse or the egg will crack.
Poking the hole takes patience and finesse or the egg will crack.

First poke holes in each end of an egg with a pointy object. If you use a blade, after the hole is started continue gently or the egg will crack.

The shell and membrane inside the egg both need to be punctured.
The shell and membrane inside the egg both need to be punctured.

One hole should be larger than the other.

Use a paper clip or skinny skewer to break up the egg yolk before blowing.
Use a paper clip or skinny skewer to break up the egg yolk before blowing.

Using an unbent paper clip inserted in one of the holes, I broke up the yolk.

Squeeze the syringe at the large hole end and the egg will run out the other side.
Squeeze the syringe at the large hole end and the egg will run out the other side.

Place the syringe on the large hole (it need not be inserted in the hole) and gently squeeze. (You can also blow on the hole with your mouth if you don’t have a syringe.)

Charlie used the blown-egg insides to make French toast.
Charlie used the blown-egg insides to make French toast.

The white and then the yolk will run out the smaller hole. At the beginning the liquid might come out both holes.

Blown egg shells.
Blown egg shells.

Wash off the egg and let it dry. Now it’s ready for your project.

Who’s your DIY guru?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

4 thoughts on “How I Blew My Eggs”

  1. I blew some eggs a while back and I nearly blew my brains out my ears. Maybe I forgot to break up the yolk. Never thought of an ear syringe (which I don’t have). I also had trouble getting them clean inside, and they started to stink after a couple of days! 🙂

    1. I don’t have enough wind to blow up balloons, which is probably why I don’t play a wind instrument. I’ll be on guard for the stink. Jo

Leave a Reply

