Where Did I Put It?

I have looked all over the house for our Easter decorations. I keep them in a clear plastic storage box with a green top.

This little fellow usually sits in the child's rocking chair in the living room .
This little fellow usually sits in the child’s rocking chair in the living room .

We don’t have much but I’d like to put out a few hints of spring this week.

The blue box was hiding behind the chimney in a blue plastic tub.
The blue box was hiding behind the chimney in a blue plastic tub.

After looking from the attic to the basement and everywhere in between I thought I might have stashed a box in the attic in the Cottage. I found a box of vases which also was storing 2 sets of hot rollers for hair. No wonder I can’t find anything.

A tub full of Easter stuff.
A tub full of Easter stuff.

Finally yesterday morning I cleared my mind and went back up in the attic in the house. After moving around a few boxes I spied a blue plastic storage tub with a blue top labeled “Easter”. That’s right, blue not green.

I'm going to stash bunnies all over the house.
I’m going to stash bunnies all over the house.

Everything from chicks to bunnies to eggs to egg holders for dying eggs were all packed safely away.

The soaps came with their own nesting material.
The soaps came with their own nesting material.

I even found some small egg-shaped soaps which I put in a small basket to remind us of new life.

We remember Jesus washing his disciples' feet on Maundy Thursday.
We remember Jesus washing his disciples’ feet on Maundy Thursday.

I put these on an occasional table which also holds a cross bottle; a small bowl, pitcher, and towel; and a Limoges box with a fishing boat by the side of the sea.

A tiny Limoges box which reminds me of the fishing boats by the Sea of Galilee.
A tiny Limoges box which reminds me of the fishing boats by the Sea of Galilee.

All of these items remind me of Jesus and so are perfect for an Easter tableau.

Carved bunny box
Carved bunny box

But I digress. I put away the owl and the pussycat and replaced them on the kitchen window sill with a wooden bunny box.

Porch pillows on the bench say "Spring is here."
Porch pillows on the bench say “Spring is here.”

Finally I’m embracing the hope of spring with floral pillows on the side porch.

By the way, today begins the 6th year of this blog.

What have you put away for safe keeping that you can’t find?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

13 thoughts on “Where Did I Put It?”

  1. The list is too long to recite. The scariest place long term is the “safe place” I come up with to put something important. The items in the safe place, wherever that is at the current time, may be so safe that I never see them again.

      1. I forgot to congratulate you on your 6 year anniversary blogging. That’s quite an accomplishment!

  2. I used to be better at keeping similar or related things together in the storage tubs but now you never know what you’re going to find mixed together! I love the Easter bunnies all over the place. They’re so cute!

    Congrats on 6 years of blogging!

    1. Thanks, HH. I have unloaded 3 boxes recently and have even found a reasonable place to store the contents. Baby steps. Woo hoo. Jo

Leave a Reply

