Sweet ’16: March

I’m going to keep on with my monthly to-do lists even though the failure rate is abominable.

I'll be changing to the summer bed linens soon.
I’ll be changing to the summer bed linens soon.

March is spring and Easter and warmer weather and winds and .  .  .

The garden looks very brown right now.
The garden looks very brown right now.

I know for one thing Charlie is aching to get out to the garden which sits bleak and abandoned all winter.

Can't wait to hang this lighting fixture (times 2) in the master bathroom.
Can’t wait to hang this lighting fixture (times 2) in the master bathroom.

In addition to finishing up the things we neglected in January and February I have an ambitious list for March.

  • Install remaining interior trim.

    The pile of trim is resting comfortably in the Cottage along with lots of other future projects.
    The pile of trim is resting comfortably in the Cottage along with lots of other future projects.
  • Fill nails holes.

    After I filled every hole I realized I had missed as many as I had filled.
    After I filled every hole I realized I had missed as many as I had filled.
  • Paint trim.

    Miles and miles of trim to be painted.
    Miles and miles of trim to be painted.
  • Start work on exterior shutters. Scrape, clean, paint.

    Shutters in front and also against the back wall of the shed.
    Shutters in front and also against the back wall of the shed.

It will be so nice to begin working outside again.

For some jobs a paint sprayer is the only way to go.
For some jobs a paint sprayer is the only way to go.

I know my paint sprayer has been missing me.

Do you plant early spring crops? What’s first?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

7 thoughts on “Sweet ’16: March”

    1. I used to have more flowers but Charlie has trouble compromising edible v. inedible gardening. I do appreciate the French beans, though. Jo

Leave a Reply

