Trying a New Spray Paint Color

Finally we have a couple of days above 50 degrees so I can spray paint a small project outside.

Silver on the left, Satin Nickel on the right.
Silver on the left, Satin Nickel on the right.

In the past when I wanted to create a kind of mercury glass effect with spray paint I used Valspar’s bright silver spayed quickly over wet hammered bronze.

Detail of a painted ceramic tree with a mercury glass appearance.
Detail of a painted ceramic tree with a mercury glass appearance.

It wasn’t difficult and I liked it.

The lid of the chrome paint can is shiny silver.
The lid of the chrome paint can is shiny silver.

I went to Lowe’s to pick up some more bright silver and alas there was none.  So I stopped into Home Depot and bought one can each of Rustoleum silver and chrome.

Notice the "lace" edge of this vintage metal wastebasket with a weighted bottom.
Notice the “lace” edge of this vintage metal wastebasket with a weighted bottom.

My plan was to paint this old wastebasket I found in the attic to (sort of) match the chrome fixtures in the master bathroom.

Mirrored vanity tray
Mirrored vanity tray

I like the old can because the top of it echoes the frame on this mirrored tray which I also plan to use in the master bathroom. (I’ll probably have to paint it also.)

Working quickly spray hammered bronze on the surface followed immediately by chrome.
Working quickly spray hammered bronze on the surface followed immediately by chrome.

I sprayed it with hammered bronze and while it was still wet I over-sprayed with both the silver and the chrome.

I like the mottled look of this shiny finish.
I like the mottled look of this shiny finish.

The hammered paint causes the other paint to separate and darken in places.

A drip is visible on the front of the can.
A drip is visible on the front of the can which could have been avoided.

If I do another project with this technique I’ll try to paint on a horizontal surface rather than a vertical one since the paint tends to run.

This was a fast and inexpensive project.
This was a fast and inexpensive project.

The finish looks good in the master bathroom.

The wastecan is stashed between the shower glass and vanity.
The wastecan is stashed between the shower glass and vanity.

It’s glitzy and fits perfectly in this niche between the shower and vanity.

Before and After
Before and After

Sidebar: I decided against a galvanized finish for this bathroom because of the chrome fixtures.  The more rustic conservatory bathroom might get a galvanized-finish can.

Are you full on shiny chrome or the more subtle satin finish? (I like both.)

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

9 thoughts on “Trying a New Spray Paint Color”

  1. Wow. It looks so much better that I imagined. I love the finish. The before pictures made the fleur de lis look painted on, so it was a surprise to learn that that show though in an understated and pretty way.

  2. I really like the effect. We just bought the hammered bronze for a project we’re working on which I can’t wait to try. As mentioned, I thought the fleur de lis was painted on and it was cool to see the raised pattern.

    1. I used hammered bronze on a couple of projects straight. Don’t be disappointed in the first coat because the effect gets much better with the second coat. And it takes a few moments to happen. Jo

  3. I didn’t think I would like this can, but I really do! Nice job! Now if only I can remember the technique later if I want a Mercury glass finish (I love Mercury glass).

    1. The chrome paint looks like glass. I wasn’t sure I’d like it either but now I’m looking for things to mercurialize. Jo

Leave a Reply

