Make a List and Stick to It

Last weekend I worked alone on a small list of projects.

Thoroughly dry and tender and headed for the freezer.
Thoroughly dry and tender and headed for the freezer.

I’m made a batch of meringues.

The Moen Icon towel bar is securely hung on the back wall of the master shower.
The Moen Icon towel bar is securely hung on the back wall of the master shower.

I hung a towel bar in the master shower.

Most of the dirty paintbrushes are soaking in solvent.
Most of the dirty paintbrushes are soaking in solvent.

I soaked my paint brushes in brush cleaner.  Unfortunately some of the paint was still damp on the brushes which transferred to my Glade bench. Now I have a decision of whether to ditch the bench or give it a different finish.

Vintage metal wastebasket with a weighted bottom.
I’ve decided to mercurialize this old waste can.

I looked for Valspar bright silver metallic spray paint to paint a vintage wastebasket but it is out-of-stock at our local Lowes.

We're using Charlie's grandmother's pink-flowered china for the tea parties then will pass it to the next generation.
We’re using Charlie’s grandmother’s pink-flowered china for the tea parties then will pass it to the next generation.

This week I’m in full tea party mode.  I planned the menu and did the shopping, now I just have to arrange the flowers, assemble the sandwiches, and plate the desserts. (Charlie and son will make and serve the tea in their best tearoom manner. They both have experience in this area.)

On the savory side:

  • chicken salad sandwiches,
  • egg salad sandwiches,
  • cucumber sandwiches,
  • pretzel thins.

On the sweet side:

  • petit fours,
  • lemon curd in meringue shells aka Pavlovas,
  • almond pound cake,
  • mini sweet bites from Trader Joe’s.

Since I’m having 2 parties on consecutive Saturdays I’ve asked a friend on next week’s guest list to give me a hand with this week’s preparations.

I'll need 4 extra chairs or 2 chairs and the piano bench. Whoever sits to the right of the card table can help pour.
I’ll need 4 extra chairs or 2 chairs and the piano bench. Whoever sits to the right of the card table can help pour.

The head count for tomorrow is 9.  We’ll need extra chairs in the living room. Things will be tight cozy.

I'm keeping the cups, saucers, and other dishes under cover until tomorrow so dust won't settle on them.
I’m keeping the cups, saucers, and other dishes under cover until tomorrow so dust won’t settle on them.

I’ve already put a card table with a tablecloth in the living room to hold the goodies in addition to the coffee table.

Running water in the bathroom -- a novel idea.
Running water in the bathroom — a novel idea.

I hope to also give you a report about the master bathroom vanity, but then I’ve had the same hope for a while now.

What are you hoping for in the short term?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

Leave a Reply

