Plans Foiled Now Must Work Alone

I expected to have workmen in the house today.  Unfortunately they have canceled.

I'll be hauling the Kitchen Aid mixer out of the pantry for the first time since the kitchen has been finished.
I’ll be hauling the Kitchen Aid mixer out of the pantry for the first time since the kitchen has been finished.

I’m left to my own devices. Good news is I don’t have to cook for the crew.

I'll definitely be trying my hand at piping again.
I’ll definitely be trying my hand at piping again.

But I will be cooking. I’m going to take a test run at meringues.

We need to install a towel bar in the shower but we need a special bit that will drill through ceramic tile.
We need to install a towel bar in the shower but we need a special bit that will drill through ceramic tile.

And I’m going to hang a towel bar in the master shower.  I’ve been waiting for someone to do it for me. I need to buy a carbide bit to drill through the ceramic wall tile in the shower. Then I’ll try the installation all by myself.

I'd like to paint the door to the master bathroom so I can hang a robe hook on the back of it.
I’d like to paint the door to the master bathroom so I can hang a robe hook on the back of it.

I also want to start painting the interior doors but I think all my brushes need to be soaked in brush cleaner.  I’ll do that, too.

Vintage metal wastebasket with a weighted bottom.
Vintage metal wastebasket with a weighted bottom.

Last item: I was up in the attic yesterday morning and I found a metal waste can that would be perfect for the master bathroom except it needs a little gussying up.

Galvanized finish like the vase above would be doable with paint.
Galvanized finish like the vase above would be doable with paint.
The fixtures in the master bathroom are polished chrome.
The fixtures in the master bathroom are polished chrome.

I’m torn between galvanized tin or high-shine chrome to match the fixtures. For a high-polished shine I could use the technique I mastered on the silver ceramic tree in this post.

What disappointed you this week?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

8 thoughts on “Plans Foiled Now Must Work Alone”

  1. Ah, the woes of waiting on workmen! I understand about putting up the towel bar yourself. I was sealing tile and grout this morning (and yesterday), so as not to have to wait again on someone to show up. Easy job, so why not. We actually like DIY. No real disappointments this week, as our bathroom is almost done. Just now waiting for the glass shower door to arrive. Next week…or so they say! Happy weekending to you…show us your meringues! 🙂

    1. A half-hour chore takes me 4 hours by the time I gather all the tools and make mistakes and use the wrong piece then make a correction. Yikes!! Jo

Leave a Reply

