Teapots

I was sure I had more than the 3 teapots I found in the kitchen cabinets.

A lovely variety of teapots.
A lovely variety of teapots.

I trekked up into the attic (not my favorite thing) and found a box labeled “teapots”. Woo hoo!

The little brown and the little blue pots are for single servings of breakfast tea.
The little brown and the little blue pots are for single servings of breakfast tea.

There were items in the box I don’t even remember having so everything must have belonged to Mother.

The Franconia teapot ("Gretchen" pattern) was purchased in 1935 Berlin by my son's great-grandfather.
The Franconia teapot (“Gretchen” pattern) was purchased in 1935 Berlin by my son’s great-grandfather.

I am happy to have extra teapots to use at my tea parties.

I added small teapots to the left and right of the gold one.
I added small teapots to the left and right of the gold one.
Is this an individual teapot or a single chocolate pot? Either way it's dainty and cute.
Is this an individual teapot or a single chocolate pot? Either way it’s dainty and cute.
This Noritake teapot is also scrumptious.
This Noritake teapot is also scrumptious.

Two of the pots were so pretty and unusual I added them to the mantel decoration.

Handpainted Noritake bowl with pink roses.
Handpainted Noritake bowl with pink roses.

In addition there were two Noritake bowls which reminded me of the “Belle Epoch” era when tea parties were plentiful.

Another smaller bowl with only one handle which ties together the golds/oranges and pinks I've been decorating with.
Another smaller bowl with only one handle which ties together the golds/oranges and pinks I’ve been decorating with.

I’ll have to use them because they go right along with the pink rose theme I’m planning for the décor.

A lidded butter dish.
A lidded butter dish.

This treasure trove reminded me that I have a porcelain butter dish.

Isn't this a treat? Maybe I can think of some other small food item that needs to be kept chilled other than butter.
Isn’t this a treat? Maybe I can think of some other small food item that needs to be kept chilled other than butter.

An old-fashioned butter dish has a perforated tray which sits on crushed ice to keep the butter from melting on during warm dinners. What can I serve to use this neat little piece?

The responses are rolling in.
The responses are rolling in.

I’m having so much fun planning this tea party.  I’ve already had some taste testings of petit fours.  It’s a hardship, I know, but someone has to do it.

Have you tried a new food recently that you’re craving?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Teapots”

  1. I love high tea. My favorite place for high tea is the Empress Hotel in Victoria BC. My mother used to make us dress up and take us when we were children.
    I love your invitations!

    1. Had tea many places and loved everyone especially when my son was young and we’d go after commencement ceremonies. A cute little boy in his school tie and blazer. #proudmama Jo

  2. You are such a trooper, Jo, forcing yourself to do the taste testing. No such luck on my end, but I did treat my sister and myself to a lunch of creamed tuna with peas on toast the other day. Took us right back to our long ago childhood days.

  3. Some of your dishes remind me of vintage china pieces that I lost to the big earthquake in 1999. They dumped out of my kleiderschrank and smashed on the floor. 😦

    1. That is so sad. I am a lover of dishes which I think is hereditary in my case. I really love the pottery you have collected and enjoy reading about your acquisitions. Before I get anymore pieces I must give away what I have. Jo

    1. And they look like new. So fun. You’re in the land of afternoon tea — one of the things I loved about my trip to Ireland. Jo

Leave a Reply

