Why Do I Tell You Things?

Mainly because once I’ve told you, I must either do it or explain myself.  You’re my accountability team.

I bought 4 Advantage Plus 937 Advantage Plus 5 Knobs and 2 Lauréy 527 Nantucket Pulls from AGTStores.
I bought 4 Advantage Plus 937 Advantage Plus 5 Knobs and 2 Lauréy 527 Nantucket Pulls from AGTStores.

So I bought my knobs and pulls for the linen closet.

These Sharpies have tips at both ends.
These Sharpies have tips at both ends.

And I purchased blue Sharpies so I can get started on this project. The Sharpies at Staples come packaged in sets.  I bought the smallest package I could find that had a blue marker.  These particular Sharpies have 2 sizes on the same pen — fine and extra-fine.

The Christmas stuff is still cluttering up the laundry room.
The Christmas stuff is still cluttering up the laundry room.

As to today’s chore list, I’ve been hoping Charlie would haul the Christmas decorations up to the attic but since that hasn’t happened that’s my first course of action today.

The little tree we used on the porch is still in the upstairs hall behind the wet-dry vac which can also goooooo.
The little tree we used on the porch is still in the upstairs hall behind the wet-dry vac which can also goooooo.

I’m tired of seeing it and having to squeeze around it.

Piles of booklets and manuals and samples from the renovation need to be gathered in one place.
Piles of booklets and manuals and samples from the renovation need to be gathered in one place.

I’m also planning to go through the papers that have accumulated over the past 3 years that pertain to the renovation. I’m not organizing them, just consolidating them. It’s a step in the right direction.

I'm on the hunt for a good deal on rock candy swizzle sticks to use in our tea.
I’m on the hunt for a good deal on rock candy swizzle sticks to use in our tea.

Finally I’m making a list of special items I’d like to have at my tea party. The list includes local honey, rock sugar swizzle sticks, and petit fours.

Who keeps you accountable?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Why Do I Tell You Things?”

  1. You do. All your lists and projects and accomplishments keep me going, too. I’m always so impressed by your forward movement. I started reading you to see the progress on the renovation – I love seeing transformations – but you remind me of things I need to do, too. Or I think, well Jo got that done – it’s time for me to make some progress. So thanks, Jo – keep it up!

    1. You get that hard things done but, I agree, the blog does help. When I started it was to keep other people accountable. Joke’s on me. Jo

  2. I am there with ya….telling someone what you are up to, helps to keep one accountable. I also love reading blogs like yours. It inspires and keeps me on my toes too! So thank you! Have a nice weekend. Koko

Leave a Reply

