Bookshelves are still Not Finished But . . .

Almost every renovation project takes precedence over our bedroom bookshelves.

The skeleton of the shelves are screwed together.
The skeleton of the shelves are screwed together.

Up until this week they were just a shell.

1/4" shelf pins come 12 to a package and 4 pushed into pre-drilled holes support a single shelf.
1/4″ shelf pins come 12 to a package and 4 pushed into pre-drilled holes support a single shelf.

I decided to pop the rest of the shelves in place on little metal shelf pins.

Just before the blizzard this weekend we brought the striped cushions in from the bedroom terrace and now they're piled in the bedroom until out closet is finished.
Just before the blizzard this weekend we brought the striped cushions in from the bedroom terrace and now they’re piled in the bedroom until our closet is finished.

I know the paint will need to be touched up when the shelves are all trimmed out.

We carried these 2 Italian tiles back from Rome in 2005.
We carried these 2 Italian tiles back from Rome in 2005.

I found a few decorative items that might look good on the shelves when they’re all finished.

I love the blue and grey together.
I love the blue and grey together.

In addition to my etiquette book collection I’m keeping a Helen Mirren biography a friend recently gave me.

I'm pretty sure that Charlie's side of the room will also be styled by me.
I’m pretty sure that Charlie’s side of the room will also be styled by me.

As I find other things I’ll style the shelves with things I’ve had put away just waiting for a place to display them. Of course I’ll eventually have to remove everything in order to finish up the building.

Do you take interim measures just for fun?

 

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “Bookshelves are still Not Finished But . . .”

    1. Our old closets used to project 2 feet into the other side of the room. These 10 inches are much more pleasing and I can keep some favorite things in view. Jo

Leave a Reply

