The Orchids are in Bloom Again

Last year we had two orchid plants, one from the trash and one a gift, which bloomed beautifully and for a long time.

The orchid I received last year for my birthday in February was still blooming in June.
The orchid I received last year for my birthday in February was still blooming in June.

Then those two and a large pot of four orchids I keep at work dropped all their blooms.

I poked holes in the bottom of a shallow plastic container.
I poked holes in the bottom of a shallow plastic container.
A layer of bark chips covered the bottom of the container.
A layer of bark chips covered the bottom of the container.
This mass of roots wouldn't fit into the shallow container.
This mass of roots wouldn’t fit into the shallow container.

A month or so ago I tried to move my orchids into bigger pots but realized I would need special pots and soil (bark chips) so I just put them back into their original pots.

Should be blooming by Valentine's Day.
Should be blooming by Valentine’s Day.

Now they are all budding.

All the orchids will be blooming at the same time.
All the orchids will be blooming at the same time.

Perhaps it’s just the right time. Or am I an orchid genius?

What do you know about growing orchids?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “The Orchids are in Bloom Again”

    1. My sister in Florida has them hanging (potless) from her trees and makes no effort at all. We seem to have the right amount of light in our kitchen because they thrive. That being said, I don’t feed them and barely water them. Jo

    1. Our house is cool, too, but gets plenty of natural light. I just read that orchids like their jumbled roots in the smallest pot that will fit them. For a while I figured they were going to grow roots and not flower but I and my black thumb were wrong. Jo

  1. I don’t know a lot about orchids other than that they like growing in small pots with orchid bark (fertilised) and they can be very picky about light, temperature, etc. You’re obviously doing very well with them! Genius indeed.
    -Twiglet

  2. This is really interesting because I don’t know anything about orchids. However, back in September or so, my manager put me in charge of taking care of hers while she was out for a few weeks having surgery. She didn’t know anything about orchids either. Someone had just given it to her as a gift. While she was out, I took the best care of it that I could without knowing anything about orchids. Every morning when I would come in, there would be a few more flowers on my desk. By the time she got back to work, it was bare but the leaves were still a nice healthy green. I don’t know if she took it home or threw it away but I’ll have to ask her about it tomorrow. I think it would be awesome if it bloomed again and then I wouldn’t feel so bad about it losing all the flowers!

Leave a Reply

