No More Red Candles

Actually I have a lot of red candles and I’m not really going to let them go to waste HOWEVER .  .  .

I didn't even actually burn red candles this year but some red wax was in the holders which dripped out when the candles burned down.
I didn’t even actually burn red candles this year but some red wax was in the holders which dripped out when the candles burned down.

I’m not going to burn red candles on my good my good tablecloths and,

I used most of these to make tea tin candles.
I used most of these to make tea tin candles.

when I buy new candles they will be some pale color.

Natural color beeswax candles go great with my color scheme.
Natural color beeswax candles go great with my color scheme.

I used my favorite tablecloth for Christmas and New Year’s which comes from Holland and is colorfully cross-stitched.

A splotch of red wax on the tablecloth.
A splotch of red wax on the tablecloth.

A drop of red wax fell on it.

Wax and color transferred to the paper towel.
Wax and color transferred to the paper towel.

Before laundering I layered it between a cotton cloth (on the bottom) and a paper towel (on the top) and ironed the paper town with a hot iron.

After ironing between a cloth and paper towel.
After ironing between a cloth and paper towel.

All of the wax and much of the color was transferred to the cloth and towel.

Just a hint of the stain remains. I can live with it.
Just a hint of the stain remains (center of the photo). I can live with it.

Then I pretreated it for about 20-30 minutes before washing it in cold water in the washing machine.  Most of the stain came out.

What's more flattering that candlelight.
What’s more flattering that candlelight?

I’ll burn the red candles where they can’t become a permanent stain.

What’s you favorite candle color? (Mine is natural beeswax.) What’s your favorite candle scent? (Mine is lavender/lemon.)

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

5 thoughts on “No More Red Candles”

  1. You did a great job getting the wax stain out. No favorites but I do like beeswax, too. I have a lot of candles but forget to light them. I noticed that it’s getting hard to find wax candles in the stores – they are switching to the battery candles.

  2. We get our natural beeswax candles from our honey man, Mr. Sweet, if you can believe it. I also think white candles always look elegant. Apparently so does QEII. Jo

    1. I know our was brought to us by a Dutch sailor back in the 1960s. It’s very versatile and always looks festive. Neat that you have one, too. Jo

Leave a Reply

