Mother’s Dressing Table

For as long as I can remember my mother had a dressing table.

My mother's dressing table which she "antiqued".
My mother’s dressing table which she “antiqued”.

First it was brown wood tone, then in the 70s she “antiqued” it (and a few other pieces) green. I got the dressing table (which we used to call interchangeably the desk or vanity) and my sister got the needlepointed bench (I think).

This is the space reserved for my dressing table.
This is the space reserved for my dressing table.

When our master bathroom was built I designated a space for this piece of furniture.

Even with the drawers removed this piece is not light.
Even with the drawers removed this piece is not light.

In order to move it from its temporary place in the closet to the bathroom I removed the drawers to make it lighter.

I couldn't set the dressing table in place with the feet on the floor.
I couldn’t set the dressing table in place with the feet on the floor.

After the baseboard was installed in the bathroom the dressing table didn’t seem to fit.

I've been using this vintage tabletop mirror but I will probably also hang one on the wall.
I’ve been using this vintage tabletop mirror but I will probably also hang one on the wall.

I forced it in the alcove and it fits very snugly.

I tried the new shower -- heaven.
I tried the new shower — heaven.

Unfortunately I was also hoping to put shoe molding on the floor which would surely prohibit the piece from fitting in this spot.

I also hung the toilet paper holder which was completely installation from the one in the conservatory.
I also hung the toilet paper holder which was completely installation from the one in the conservatory. (Vanity faucets are piled on the dressing table until the sinks are delivered.)

I have a plan to refinish this dressing table in some way.  I haven’t yet decided on the finish nor do I have a good solution to the baseboard dilemma.

Do you have a favorite inherited item?

Author: Jo

Welcome to The Glade, where the second generation of renovations has just begun and the mania about our home, music and other passions fill our days and nights. We’re Charlie and Jo in the music world; Mary Jo and Charles to family; and JoJo and Charlie to each other. We are renovating a midcentury house in a Victorian historic district where we want to live there the rest of our lives. It's a 1946 house located in Maryland. We were married in this house. Thus far (pre-blog) we refinished cabinets, added a window seat (still working on the cushion), rearranged a wall in the guest house due to sink/vanity replacement, planted a vegetable garden, and other quick and not-so-quick fixes. So this latest zeal for construction is the result of my having lived here since 1997 and feeling a need to ready the house for the next chapter and beyond.

10 thoughts on “Mother’s Dressing Table”

  1. That’s a little distressing about the alcove. The baseboard looks like it’s pretty thick. Since it’s an alcove, could you use thinner baseboard and forgo the shoe molding?

    1. I can go to similar baseboard that is preformed. If I give up the shoe it will definitely work. The one thing I’m not going to do is trim the legs of the furniture. Jo

  2. I like the snug fit of the table, but understand about the rest of the trim. If you don’t carry it all the way around the room, it is difficult. I would try to figure out a way to leave it off I that alcove… I think.
    Can’t say I have a favorite inherited item. My grand parents owned a 12-u it motel when I was young and they had beautiful period furnishings in every room…Jenny Lind beds, dressing tables with trifold mirrors, etc. I always wished I would have asked for some of that furniture!

    1. All these things are just old junk until we get older and appreciate craftsmanship and tradition. Thanks for commenting about the table. Jo

  3. I know what Eric would do–he’d cut a smidge off the back of the base molding and trim the adjoining pieces to fit so that you can slide the dressing table out without damaging it.
    Yes, it was in the 70s that my mom “antiqued” a pretty little tea cart in olive green. She did a nice job and I have not changed it … but I may someday.

Leave a Reply

